SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 2 of 3 < 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#7444 - 09/15/03 01:24 PM Re: FM addiction?
frequency49 Offline

Loc: Lincoln, NE, USA
I am new to the synthzone, and have progressively been dabbling in the KBS realm for the past few years - guitar and vocals being my first instruments of choice - modern rock/grunge/heavy/ genres but with much interest in hip hop and rNb beats.... Anyway. I have a Yamaha DX200 desktop synth - which I think counts for FM synth?
I also have a KORG EA-1 electribe and I must say I dig the FM possibilities.

I'll have plenty of questions for the many wise ones later!

- - - -

#7445 - 09/15/03 07:30 PM Re: FM addiction?
3351 Offline

Loc: Toronto, Canada.
Yes, DX200 is FM.

I find that FM lets you program sounds that work well with heavy guitars.
Simply pick any sound and turn up the level of the modulators 'till the sound starts to distort. the result is more interesting then simply running a sound through a distortion effect. Bands like Skinny Puppy and Nine inch nails have been using that simple, but effective method for years. (although they also used fuzzboxes and guitar amps to distort their synths).
By the way I also play guitar and sing.
ED

[This message has been edited by 3351 (edited 09-15-2003).]

#7446 - 09/16/03 08:34 AM Re: FM addiction?
frequency49 Offline

cool....

I've been most influenced by a band called "God Lives Underwater" in the whole synth - guitar - rock hybrid. I've never heard anything like them in the way they blended everything. I hear a lot of synths and keys in music today, but nothing like the early GLU factor.

What do the Fantom s88 and Triton Studio fall into as far as analog/FM on the synth aspect that is?

- - - -

#7447 - 09/16/03 09:47 AM Re: FM addiction?
3351 Offline

The Roland Fantom s88 and Korg Triton Studio are neither FM nor analog.