SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#73631 - 07/27/02 06:45 AM trade psr9000 for psr2000 ?
Alain Offline
Member

Registered: 02/28/99
Posts: 380
Loc: De Panne , Belgium
I just bought a second hand Yamaha psr9000.
I have the possibility to trade the psr9000 for a psr2000.
Should I go for it or keep the psr9000.
What's the best sollution do you think ?

Thanks,
Alain

Top
#73632 - 07/27/02 07:03 AM Re: trade psr9000 for psr2000 ?
rgtaa Offline
Member

Registered: 10/08/01
Posts: 269
Depends on what you are using it for.

Is the psr2000 new ...and is it even exchange ...or do you have to add money?

Ebay is selling the psr2000 brand new for around 800-900 dollars (at least they were the last month or so).

Used psr9000 is probably 1699-1899 I would think ... haven't seen one on Ebay the last few months.

Do you gig everynight in different places or do you use it mostly for studio work with occassional gig?

Do you want or need the Sampler feature in psr9000?
Do you want hard drive option that psr9000 has?
Did you download lastest upgrades for psr9000?

Did you play the psr2000 for 3 or 4 hours in store to see if you like the action?
Some folks think the psr2000 has cheap action and mid-level instrument. Others love it and live with it's limitations.

The psr9000 is pro gear (it sold new for 3800 dollars a few years ago)

No upgradeable os in psr2000.

You might want to wait and trade it for the new Tyro's when it comes out this fall.

How much did you pay for your used psr9000?

Go to yahoo's psr sytles forum and song forum and join for free... they have lot's of style downloads and lots of folks that own these instuments ... 2500 members on that forum.

Read the REVIEWS online about both instruments ... I found many when I did search a few months ago.


p.s. Ebay has a used psr2000 selling right now at 650 dollars ... as of this writing. http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=895829986

P.S. I would think you would get more in trade selling a psr9000 then a psr2000 ...if after a few months you go to trade or sell a psr2000. Maybe others can comment on this too.



[This message has been edited by rgtaa (edited 07-27-2002).]

Top
#73633 - 07/27/02 07:27 AM Re: trade psr9000 for psr2000 ?
Graham UK Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/20/01
Posts: 1730
Loc: Lincolnshire UK
Excellent advice from rgtaa. I can add only 3 words.....KEEP THE 9000.

Graham UK

Top
#73634 - 07/27/02 08:11 AM Re: trade psr9000 for psr2000 ?
Alain Offline
Member

Registered: 02/28/99
Posts: 380
Loc: De Panne , Belgium
Hello,
Thanks for the fast reply.

I bought the second hand psr9000 (looks as new) for 1100 Euro. I think this is a very good price.

The psr2000 is new....
I play only for my pleasure....I play only at home.

I just like the ots link on the psr2000.....a pitty that the psr9000 doesn't have this option.

I will not trade this one for the Tyros...I just ordered a Technics kn7000.
I will not spend any more money...my wife will kill me.

I think I better keep the psr9000.

I just have a little problem.
I play a lot with styles with ots...not the internal styles .
I want to change from variation A to B etc... and change at the same time the lead voice....this can be done with the psr2000 ...with ots link.

I just don't know what to do....

Thanks for your replys guys.


Alain

Top
#73635 - 07/27/02 08:40 AM Re: trade psr9000 for psr2000 ?
rgtaa Offline
Member

Registered: 10/08/01
Posts: 269
the psr9000 has 120 flash spaces. so you can put new styles their and use OTS there.

I go to flash style space... place a new style ... ... pick sounds (r1,r2,r3,L1) I like ... hit the RED registration button and hit one of the 4 ots settings! DONE! It saves all the voices,multipad settings,ect!

Download platiumum registrations for the psr9000 and multipads from the NET ... and download psr2000 and cvp209 and technics styles from the net!

If you have hard drive ... there are thousands of styles to download .... and you have 500 registrations ...where with one button loads all the ots,styles,beats,vocal,ect.... very cool.


You can set it up so your psr9000 loads 1250 midi songs in 5 banks (250 midi's a bank) and 250 direct access styles in additon to regular styles and 120 flash styles.

And sampling is fun, I picked up 64 megs for 70 bucks and you can load wav files and do all sorts of stuff.

With multipads you have 4 extra instruments that can do solo's, guitar strums, paino ruffs, drum stuff, repeating or single , chord sensitive... very POWERFUL.

It took me a few months to figure out all the features on this instrument from the manual and taking to people on the forum... The PSR9000 is one instrument that the more I play it ... the more I get excited about it ... with all the stuff it can do.

Let us know if you have any problems with this... also ... post your question in general arranger forum and yahoo's sytles forum ...since this yamaha forum is pretty dead... the General Arranger FORUM is where the ACTION is on this BOARD ...imho!

Top
#73636 - 07/27/02 10:16 AM Re: trade psr9000 for psr2000 ?
BEBOP Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/02/00
Posts: 3769
Loc: San Jose, California
HI RGTAA,
Wow what a lot of good information. I have recently purchased a new psr9000 and now upgraded it to v 3.02 and I think it is great. I have almost stopped playing the KN6000.
Right after I bought the 9000, I went on a cruise to Alaska for 2 weeks and then after being home a week my wife had a heart attack so I lost a couple of more weeks. Before all this happened I was in touch with a fellow somewhere that was selling the hard drive for the 9000 all loaded up.
I can't find an addy for this guy, but I think he was in the UK. Did you buy from him. Please post or email me any info and it will be much appreciated.
I really like this board and now have all the KN5000 styles playing in it. The best of both worlds
Thanks in advance from,
Bebop
_________________________
BEBOP

Top
#73637 - 07/27/02 10:31 AM Re: trade psr9000 for psr2000 ?
rgtaa Offline
Member

Registered: 10/08/01
Posts: 269
Hi Bebop!
Glad to hear everything is back on track for you ... and your wife is feeling better.

I took my hard drive out of a old ibm thinkpad that had a cracked screen and it worked in my psr9000.

I know people on the yahoo psr styles board recommend a guy there that loads styles on hard drive and sells them in uk .

You might want to try local computer shop that sells laptop hard drives and let's you try it to see if it works.

Hopefully someone can recommend a hard drive they just bought and give you the model number ... and then you can do an online search ... and buy from the web.

Top
#73638 - 07/27/02 10:04 PM Re: trade psr9000 for psr2000 ?
rgtaa Offline
Member

Registered: 10/08/01
Posts: 269
Alain!

WOW!

I just checked currency exchange!

1100 EURO is 1,083 dollars.

You picked up a used excellent condition psr9000 for 1,083! Very, Very GOOD deal!

Correct me if I'm wrong?

Live mid-market rates as of 2002.07.28 04:52:28 GMT.
1,100.00 EUR
Euro = 1,083.28 USD
United States Dollars
1 EUR = 0.984800 USD 1 USD = 1.01543 EUR

Top
#73639 - 07/28/02 04:15 AM Re: trade psr9000 for psr2000 ?
Alain Offline
Member

Registered: 02/28/99
Posts: 380
Loc: De Panne , Belgium
Hello,

Yes you are right .......I paid 1083 Euro for the psr9000.
There was also a bag to carry the psr9000 for this price.
The only thing I would like to add is a harddisk.
Where could I find such harddisk...fromYamaha or a cheaper one ?
A zipdrive scsi would be nice...but I can't find anymore in Belgium.

Thanks to all for the replies.
Alain

Top
#73640 - 07/28/02 04:31 AM Re: trade psr9000 for psr2000 ?
rgtaa Offline
Member

Registered: 10/08/01
Posts: 269
Get the hard drive first thing.

For midi stuff you can buy pc host cable.

As for scii zip or scii cdrw you might check out yahoo's prs forum... they were discussing that very subject a month ago.
One of the suggestions was get a usb zip for pc and a scii zip one for psr9000....since they are very cheap now.

The other option is USB Card ...that installs in psr9000. It's 120euro ...since euro and USD is same rate ... some company in Europe sells it and some people recommend it. Although I didn't get it yet.

[This message has been edited by rgtaa (edited 07-28-2002).]

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  Admin 



Help keep Synth Zone Online