SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#71295 - 06/10/05 01:24 PM S90 v. S80 v. S08 v. Motif
boetsch1 Offline

I am new to keyboards and I'm looking to buy something that will allow me to create background music for movies and strip/remix mp3's and music files. I am a knowlegable computer guy with piano lessons under my belt, and I want to be able to take a popular song and remix it with a variety of voices, in addition to creating original music. I like the S90 in that is has a large voice library and that I can also hook it up to my computer and sequence without having to use an expensive onboard module. It seems I can get the S80 or S08 on eBay for a lot less than an S90 new. And the Motif seems like too much for my needs. Anyone have any recs for which synth I should get for my needs? I've considered the Korg Triton, also, but I understand the Yamahas offer more. Any sequencer software packages you can recommend would be great too!

#71296 - 06/10/05 03:55 PM Re: S90 v. S80 v. S08 v. Motif
lowfrequencyoscillator Offline

Loc: atlanta , Georgia , USA
Get which ever one you can at the lowest cost . They are all the same with the same sound sets and and effects . Their are only minor differences in the number of sounds and sequencing ( if it has it ) .

#71297 - 06/13/05 10:55 AM Re: S90 v. S80 v. S08 v. Motif
RW Offline

Loc: NJ, USA
Here's some info that might be helpful, from my experience at least:

The S80 is the oldest of the following
S80
S90
S08
Mo8
MoES8

Between the S08, S80 and S90, none have an onboard recordable sequencer. All have a playback only sequencer. The Motifs have recordable sequencers.

The S80 , S08 and S90 all have different sound engines. All have different effects processors.

The key feel of the S08, S90 and Mo8 and MoES8 are all the same balanced hammer action.

The S80 has a different key feel. It's balanced and hammer action but it is a different and in my opinion, lighter action. I prefer a heavy action.