SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#487310 - 01/20/20 09:03 AM Always new pianos
guitpic1 Offline

Loc: Missouri
Watching NAMM 2020 re: keyboards.

Manufacturers seem to be developing new pianos/synthesizers all the time but that’s not so true of arrangers.

I know that they are different animals but in many ways, I think it’s easier to teach non keyboard players arranger than piano.

8 years ago, I started playing an arranger(with a guitar background) and was able to do a one hour gig(simple songs) with an arranger after about a year.

I’m on my third year of piano,and can do simple songs on the piano, but I still don’t have the confidence to do a gig using a piano as I do an arranger.

Most places I go have a piano. When I ask folks who can play, the most common response I get is that there are a few that can play.

Yet I know that I can teach(have done it) a non keyboard player to play a simple song using using one finger, left hand in a short time.

Who is buying all these pianos?

#487324 - 01/20/20 09:48 AM Re: Always new pianos [Re: guitpic1]
cgiles Offline

Loc: Roswell,GA/USA
Originally Posted By guitpic1

People that want to learn how to PLAY.

chas

#487326 - 01/20/20 09:59 AM Re: Always new pianos [Re: guitpic1]
Bill Lewis Offline

Loc: Bluffton/Hilton Head SC USA
Most pro gigging players use piano as their main board. Thats why you see new models that are compact and light like the new Roland FP88. Then the add a second keyboard for the others stuff like the Roland VR09. You've got enough sounds to handle most anything.