Topic Options
#479026 - 10/26/19 06:49 PM Relax...
Fran Carango Offline

Loc: Levittown, Pa, USA
for about 1 and 1/2 hours..

#479027 - 10/26/19 07:23 PM Re: Relax... [Re: Fran Carango]
cgiles Offline

Loc: Roswell,GA/USA
Fran, I'd love to give you an HONEST assessment of her playing but I know it would just upset you and make you lash back. Let's just say that as a jazz singer and ESPECIALLY as a jazz pianist, I was NOT impressed. Some examples: exagerated syncopation (that loses the groove and almost the beat/time); cliched 'licks', and maybe the worst 'comping' I've heard in a pro group (too loud, very amateurish, and no indication that she's listening to the EXCELLENT guitarist during his solo ('I'm old fashioned'). Of course this is just MY assessment; no one has to agree with it. It's just that there are SOOOooo many really good jazz singer/stylist and jazz pianist that are so much better. JMO.

chas

#479028 - 10/26/19 07:24 PM Re: Relax... [Re: Fran Carango]
Dnj Offline

What does have to do with arranger keyboards?

#479031 - 10/26/19 08:19 PM Re: Relax... [Re: Fran Carango]
Fran Carango Offline

Chas, I found it interesting.. She sings like Youtubes Aimee smile

She wrote most of the material they played, and did the arrangements.

Did I mention she is cute grin

At first I didn't think any were great... but good.. As I watched I changed my mine The drummer, the bass player, the guitar player and the brass were all excellent.. and Yes I thought She was pretty good too.

Did I say how good looking she was? grin

Donny It had about as much to do with arranger keyboards, as returning keyboards to FedEx. shocked

I should add that some seasoned pros can learn from small groups and apply it to the way arrangers should sound..

Chas Sure there are tons of videos that we can watch, but I seen this .. I am sure she sings better then you or I grin

Plays piano better than we do smile

And looks better then you... maybe us shocked