SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#440031 - 10/28/17 01:05 PM Ketron sound engine
Bachus Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 03/02/06
Posts: 5067

How many samples can a single note of a single sound contain..

For Yamaha its 8
For Korg its 18
For Roland its 4

How many is it for Ketron?
_________________________
Korg PA4x(76), korg Kronos 88, Ipad, Macbook, Mainstage3, Komplete Ultimate 11, Omnisphere2, Keyscape, Trilian, Serum, pianoteq5, Ivory2, Blue2, Zebra2, Diva, Hive, V/collection, Synthmaster2.8, Halion 6, Superior drummer.

http://keyszone.boards.net

Top
#440051 - 10/29/17 01:09 AM Re: Ketron sound engine [Re: Bachus]
Sokratis 1974 Offline
Member

Registered: 06/06/10
Posts: 657
Loc: Hellas, Creta, Iraklion
Originally Posted By Bachus

How many samples can a single note of a single sound contain..

For Yamaha its 8
For Korg its 18
For Roland its 4

How many is it for Ketron?


3 GM or user Multisamples sounds with velocity zone...
_________________________
Style Producer, Sound Engineer, Sound Design.
Ketron Audya 76, Audya 5, SD1, Korg Pa3x, microarranger, Roland Fantom G6, V-Synth XT, XV-5080, SH201, D-50, Novation KS4, Dave Smith Evolver

Top
#440095 - 10/30/17 03:58 AM Re: Ketron sound engine [Re: Sokratis 1974]
Bachus Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 03/02/06
Posts: 5067
I think that is the keyboard sets , 3 sounds for right hand, 2 for elft hand and 1 for 2nd voice..

I am actually talking about a single sound.. how many layers can these have?
_________________________
Korg PA4x(76), korg Kronos 88, Ipad, Macbook, Mainstage3, Komplete Ultimate 11, Omnisphere2, Keyscape, Trilian, Serum, pianoteq5, Ivory2, Blue2, Zebra2, Diva, Hive, V/collection, Synthmaster2.8, Halion 6, Superior drummer.

http://keyszone.boards.net

Top
#440114 - 10/30/17 12:44 PM Re: Ketron sound engine [Re: Bachus]
Sokratis 1974 Offline
Member

Registered: 06/06/10
Posts: 657
Loc: Hellas, Creta, Iraklion
Originally Posted By Bachus
I think that is the keyboard sets , 3 sounds for right hand, 2 for elft hand and 1 for 2nd voice..

I am actually talking about a single sound.. how many layers can these have?

Bachus... The Single Factory Sounds that Ketron call as (Voice) on Audya & SD9Pro and the Programs (as user sounds), is 3 GM Sounds or Ram Multisample and 3 Velocity Layers... Thats all...
_________________________
Style Producer, Sound Engineer, Sound Design.
Ketron Audya 76, Audya 5, SD1, Korg Pa3x, microarranger, Roland Fantom G6, V-Synth XT, XV-5080, SH201, D-50, Novation KS4, Dave Smith Evolver

Top
#440150 - 10/31/17 09:11 AM Re: Ketron sound engine [Re: Bachus]
DanO1 Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/31/01
Posts: 3594
Loc: Maryland
Ketron has always had "Programs".

Programs allow you to combine 4 different sounds at a time.

Is this what you're asking ?
_________________________
dansmusicgear@aol.com
https://www.reverbnation.com/danoneil?profile_view_source=profile_box

Top
#440179 - 10/31/17 10:47 PM Re: Ketron sound engine [Re: DanO1]
Sokratis 1974 Offline
Member

Registered: 06/06/10
Posts: 657
Loc: Hellas, Creta, Iraklion
Originally Posted By DanO1
Ketron has always had "Programs".

Programs allow you to combine 4 different sounds at a time.

Is this what you're asking ?



Yes.. Its 3 Sounds in the Program and one sound in the 2nd Sound is total 4...
_________________________
Style Producer, Sound Engineer, Sound Design.
Ketron Audya 76, Audya 5, SD1, Korg Pa3x, microarranger, Roland Fantom G6, V-Synth XT, XV-5080, SH201, D-50, Novation KS4, Dave Smith Evolver

Top
#440195 - 11/01/17 07:44 AM Re: Ketron sound engine [Re: Bachus]
DanO1 Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/31/01
Posts: 3594
Loc: Maryland
Program is 4 sounds. 2nd voice would make a 5th.

Former ketron demo guy
_________________________
dansmusicgear@aol.com
https://www.reverbnation.com/danoneil?profile_view_source=profile_box

Top
#440197 - 11/01/17 08:07 AM Re: Ketron sound engine [Re: Bachus]
Bernie9 Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 09/21/02
Posts: 3876
Loc: Port Charlotte,FL,USA
Ketron must have added a voice, as my Audya 76 is three plus the 2nd voice.
_________________________
pa4X 76 ,Audya 76,Yamaha S970 , vArranger, Hammond SK1, Ketron SD40, Centerpoint Space Station

Top
#440246 - 11/01/17 11:59 PM Re: Ketron sound engine [Re: DanO1]
Sokratis 1974 Offline
Member

Registered: 06/06/10
Posts: 657
Loc: Hellas, Creta, Iraklion
Originally Posted By DanO1
Program is 4 sounds. 2nd voice would make a 5th.

Former ketron demo guy

Dear friend.. I have the Audya since 2009...
I have programming lot of my sounds....

Ok... This is from Manual of Audya:
F1/F6–VOICES
By pressing the F1 or F6 buttons you will highlight
repeatedly one of three voices that you can assign to
the same PROGRAM.


See please in the page 48
https://www.ketron.it/images/ketron/manualiPdf/E_AUDYA_SERIE_28_04_2011_SMALL.pdf


Edited by Sokratis 1974 (11/01/17 11:59 PM)
_________________________
Style Producer, Sound Engineer, Sound Design.
Ketron Audya 76, Audya 5, SD1, Korg Pa3x, microarranger, Roland Fantom G6, V-Synth XT, XV-5080, SH201, D-50, Novation KS4, Dave Smith Evolver

Top
#440293 - 11/02/17 03:35 PM Re: Ketron sound engine [Re: Bachus]
Ketron_AJ Offline
Moderator

Registered: 03/21/01
Posts: 2941
Loc: Middletown, DE
Bachus.

Total is 4 for KETRON (based on the terminology used by other manufacturers.

The actual sound itself (say Bachus Sax) can be made up of:-
* Voice 1: Factory Sound or User Sample
* Voice 2: Factory Sound or User Sample
* Voice 3: Factory Sound or User Sample

** Voice 4: Factory Sound (that can instantly be turned off/on from the panel using the 2nd voice button and whose volume can instantly be adjusted also from the panel using the 2nd Voice Volume slider).

Voices 1-3 and independently be programmed to be triggered by velocity, crossfade switching, Morphing (e.g. Voice 1 to Voice 2 using the Modulation wheel), Sustain impact/not impact a voice, Split at different parts of the keyboard, set for each voice, LFO, Attach, Sustain, Release values, Effects type, Harmony types ...etc TO CREATE YOUR NEW SOUND/Voice!

This new sound and it's settings is then saved as a PROGRAM VOICE (PROGRAM Voices are 2 or more voices layered or edited and stored as a single voice).

Hope this better answers your question?

In addition, you can also have a LEFT voice plus 2 other additional LEFT voices (LOWERS) which are set by the STYLE (so each style can store 2 LOWER voices) but controlled manually by your LEFT hand (bringing the total LEFT voices to 3 and RIGHT TO 4) - that's having access to 7 Voices/samples at once!!

This should explain it's massive 196 Notes polyphony - even way back then when most manufacturers were/are at 128! When it comes to this though, we have to also be careful. When you play say a TRUMPET sound on a KETRON product, it sounds rich, thick and full. This is considered as one voice/sound utilizing one sample (for the most part). To re-create this same voice on another manufacturer's instrument, it may require you to LAYER 2 trumpets to yield the same results (thus using/layering 2 or more samples) to get the same sound KETRON uses 1 Sample to create. This (and other design elements) are what set the KETRON product ahead when it comes to live sound!

Thanks,


Originally Posted By Bachus

How many samples can a single note of a single sound contain..

For Yamaha its 8
For Korg its 18
For Roland its 4

How many is it for Ketron?

_________________________
[KETRON - USA]
Design Engineer & Product Specialist.
www.KetronAmerica.com

Top
#440373 - 11/04/17 01:27 PM Re: Ketron sound engine [Re: Bachus]
DanO1 Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/31/01
Posts: 3594
Loc: Maryland
Thanks for clarification.
_________________________
dansmusicgear@aol.com
https://www.reverbnation.com/danoneil?profile_view_source=profile_box

Top
#440592 - 11/09/17 02:05 AM Re: Ketron sound engine [Re: Ketron_AJ]
Bachus Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 03/02/06
Posts: 5067
Originally Posted By Ketron_AJ
Bachus.

Total is 4 for KETRON (based on the terminology used by other manufacturers.

The actual sound itself (say Bachus Sax) can be made up of:-
* Voice 1: Factory Sound or User Sample
* Voice 2: Factory Sound or User Sample
* Voice 3: Factory Sound or User Sample

** Voice 4: Factory Sound (that can instantly be turned off/on from the panel using the 2nd voice button and whose volume can instantly be adjusted also from the panel using the 2nd Voice Volume slider).

Voices 1-3 and independently be programmed to be triggered by velocity, crossfade switching, Morphing (e.g. Voice 1 to Voice 2 using the Modulation wheel), Sustain impact/not impact a voice, Split at different parts of the keyboard, set for each voice, LFO, Attach, Sustain, Release values, Effects type, Harmony types ...etc TO CREATE YOUR NEW SOUND/Voice!

This new sound and it's settings is then saved as a PROGRAM VOICE (PROGRAM Voices are 2 or more voices layered or edited and stored as a single voice).

Hope this better answers your question?

In addition, you can also have a LEFT voice plus 2 other additional LEFT voices (LOWERS) which are set by the STYLE (so each style can store 2 LOWER voices) but controlled manually by your LEFT hand (bringing the total LEFT voices to 3 and RIGHT TO 4) - that's having access to 7 Voices/samples at once!!

This should explain it's massive 196 Notes polyphony - even way back then when most manufacturers were/are at 128! When it comes to this though, we have to also be careful. When you play say a TRUMPET sound on a KETRON product, it sounds rich, thick and full. This is considered as one voice/sound utilizing one sample (for the most part). To re-create this same voice on another manufacturer's instrument, it may require you to LAYER 2 trumpets to yield the same results (thus using/layering 2 or more samples) to get the same sound KETRON uses 1 Sample to create. This (and other design elements) are what set the KETRON product ahead when it comes to live sound!

Thanks,


Originally Posted By Bachus

How many samples can a single note of a single sound contain..

For Yamaha its 8
For Korg its 18
For Roland its 4

How many is it for Ketron?



Okay, so basically one voice is one sample/key?
_________________________
Korg PA4x(76), korg Kronos 88, Ipad, Macbook, Mainstage3, Komplete Ultimate 11, Omnisphere2, Keyscape, Trilian, Serum, pianoteq5, Ivory2, Blue2, Zebra2, Diva, Hive, V/collection, Synthmaster2.8, Halion 6, Superior drummer.

http://keyszone.boards.net

Top
#440626 - 11/09/17 05:01 PM Re: Ketron sound engine [Re: Bachus]
Ketron_AJ Offline
Moderator

Registered: 03/21/01
Posts: 2941
Loc: Middletown, DE
Originally Posted By Bachus
Originally Posted By Ketron_AJ
Bachus.

Total is 4 for KETRON (based on the terminology used by other manufacturers.

The actual sound itself (say Bachus Sax) can be made up of:-
* Voice 1: Factory Sound or User Sample
* Voice 2: Factory Sound or User Sample
* Voice 3: Factory Sound or User Sample

** Voice 4: Factory Sound (that can instantly be turned off/on from the panel using the 2nd voice button and whose volume can instantly be adjusted also from the panel using the 2nd Voice Volume slider).

Voices 1-3 and independently be programmed to be triggered by velocity, crossfade switching, Morphing (e.g. Voice 1 to Voice 2 using the Modulation wheel), Sustain impact/not impact a voice, Split at different parts of the keyboard, set for each voice, LFO, Attach, Sustain, Release values, Effects type, Harmony types ...etc TO CREATE YOUR NEW SOUND/Voice!

This new sound and it's settings is then saved as a PROGRAM VOICE (PROGRAM Voices are 2 or more voices layered or edited and stored as a single voice).

Hope this better answers your question?

In addition, you can also have a LEFT voice plus 2 other additional LEFT voices (LOWERS) which are set by the STYLE (so each style can store 2 LOWER voices) but controlled manually by your LEFT hand (bringing the total LEFT voices to 3 and RIGHT TO 4) - that's having access to 7 Voices/samples at once!!

This should explain it's massive 196 Notes polyphony - even way back then when most manufacturers were/are at 128! When it comes to this though, we have to also be careful. When you play say a TRUMPET sound on a KETRON product, it sounds rich, thick and full. This is considered as one voice/sound utilizing one sample (for the most part). To re-create this same voice on another manufacturer's instrument, it may require you to LAYER 2 trumpets to yield the same results (thus using/layering 2 or more samples) to get the same sound KETRON uses 1 Sample to create. This (and other design elements) are what set the KETRON product ahead when it comes to live sound!

Thanks,


Originally Posted By Bachus

How many samples can a single note of a single sound contain..

For Yamaha its 8
For Korg its 18
For Roland its 4

How many is it for Ketron?



Okay, so basically one voice is one sample/key?

No. One key can be programmed to trigger up to 3 samples to create a voice. Hope this makes more sense now....

Top
#440864 - 11/14/17 12:09 PM Re: Ketron sound engine [Re: Ketron_AJ]
Bachus Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 03/02/06
Posts: 5067
Originally Posted By Ketron_AJ
Originally Posted By Bachus
Originally Posted By Ketron_AJ
Bachus.

Total is 4 for KETRON (based on the terminology used by other manufacturers.

The actual sound itself (say Bachus Sax) can be made up of:-
* Voice 1: Factory Sound or User Sample
* Voice 2: Factory Sound or User Sample
* Voice 3: Factory Sound or User Sample

** Voice 4: Factory Sound (that can instantly be turned off/on from the panel using the 2nd voice button and whose volume can instantly be adjusted also from the panel using the 2nd Voice Volume slider).

Voices 1-3 and independently be programmed to be triggered by velocity, crossfade switching, Morphing (e.g. Voice 1 to Voice 2 using the Modulation wheel), Sustain impact/not impact a voice, Split at different parts of the keyboard, set for each voice, LFO, Attach, Sustain, Release values, Effects type, Harmony types ...etc TO CREATE YOUR NEW SOUND/Voice!

This new sound and it's settings is then saved as a PROGRAM VOICE (PROGRAM Voices are 2 or more voices layered or edited and stored as a single voice).

Hope this better answers your question?

In addition, you can also have a LEFT voice plus 2 other additional LEFT voices (LOWERS) which are set by the STYLE (so each style can store 2 LOWER voices) but controlled manually by your LEFT hand (bringing the total LEFT voices to 3 and RIGHT TO 4) - that's having access to 7 Voices/samples at once!!

This should explain it's massive 196 Notes polyphony - even way back then when most manufacturers were/are at 128! When it comes to this though, we have to also be careful. When you play say a TRUMPET sound on a KETRON product, it sounds rich, thick and full. This is considered as one voice/sound utilizing one sample (for the most part). To re-create this same voice on another manufacturer's instrument, it may require you to LAYER 2 trumpets to yield the same results (thus using/layering 2 or more samples) to get the same sound KETRON uses 1 Sample to create. This (and other design elements) are what set the KETRON product ahead when it comes to live sound!

Thanks,


Originally Posted By Bachus

How many samples can a single note of a single sound contain..

For Yamaha its 8
For Korg its 18
For Roland its 4

How many is it for Ketron?



Okay, so basically one voice is one sample/key?

No. One key can be programmed to trigger up to 3 samples to create a voice. Hope this makes more sense now....


Yes, now it does...
_________________________
Korg PA4x(76), korg Kronos 88, Ipad, Macbook, Mainstage3, Komplete Ultimate 11, Omnisphere2, Keyscape, Trilian, Serum, pianoteq5, Ivory2, Blue2, Zebra2, Diva, Hive, V/collection, Synthmaster2.8, Halion 6, Superior drummer.

http://keyszone.boards.net

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  Admin, Ketron_AJ, Tonewheeldude 



Help keep Synth Zone Online