SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#438522 - 10/05/17 01:16 AM Multiple Arrangers?
guitpic1 Online   content
Senior Member

Registered: 04/16/14
Posts: 1234
Loc: MN
For me, songs played on my arranger at a gig are arranged. Seems obvious I know but I find the style, voice, intro/ending etc that I want for each song I/we do. That can be a lot of work if one has even a repertoire of 100 songs or more.

So, for me, if I am to use my S970, I have to go through the same process(read work) that I did on my 4X to get those songs ready.

Like Deane, I use my Yammie (S970) mainly for holiday gigs...but still I like to use some of the same stuff I do on my 4X...duplicate work.

Again for me arrangers are for just what the name implies....arranging music. Arranging music takes time and sometimes I wonder, why 'arrange' music on more than one arranger?


Edited by guitpic1 (10/05/17 01:20 AM)
_________________________
PA 4X, S970, DGX650, JBL Eon One, Space Station V.3, Yamaha DXR10

Top
#438523 - 10/05/17 02:04 AM Re: Multiple Arrangers? [Re: guitpic1]
Bernie9 Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 09/21/02
Posts: 3925
Loc: Port Charlotte,FL,USA
I use the Pa4X, Audya 76, and S970 on a regular basis, and will soon add a Ketron SD40 to my Hammond SK1. I only gig about three times a week, but music is a full time adventure for me. I could easily gig with any one of them and the audience would be happy, but I selfishly play what and when I want to. This means always looking for a better style and sound for each of the perhaps 1000 or more songs I do. This, to me, is pure enjoyment and a challenge. I have a core of 150 songs on each keyboard,then add a hundred or so to each playlist. they are all different, yet the same song. Additionally, I like to go through the styles in all of the boards to give me ideas for new songs, as I am always trying to be at least somewhat relevant in this everchanging world.


Edited by Bernie9 (10/05/17 02:07 AM)
_________________________
pa4X 76 ,Audya 76,Yamaha S970 , vArranger, Hammond SK1, Ketron SD40, Centerpoint Space Station

Top
#438530 - 10/05/17 06:32 AM Re: Multiple Arrangers? [Re: guitpic1]
DonM Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/25/99
Posts: 13915
Loc: Benton, LA, USA
Don Patterson has an SD40 for sale.
_________________________
DonM

Top
#438533 - 10/05/17 07:42 AM Re: Multiple Arrangers? [Re: guitpic1]
hammer Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/27/08
Posts: 2049
Loc: Texas
After I had my PSR3000 I got the Tyros 3 and it was not long before I really got bored with the same styles and sounds all the time. I started buying other keyboards just to hear a difference and began alternating keyboards for gigs at the same places. The audiences did notice the change and enjoyed hearing something different. Every once in awhile someone would ask when I would bring the "black one or the Silver one" back to a gig so they did notice a difference. Since then I have tried to keep at least 2 and sometimes 3 various TOTL keyboards to alternate on gigs. But you still can't beat the Yamaha styles for Christmas and Patriotic music.

It is true that it requires a lot more time preparing gig sets for different keyboards but for me I have enjoyed the process and have learned a lot about how Roland, Korg, and Ketron systems work.

Deane


Top
#438535 - 10/05/17 08:40 AM Re: Multiple Arrangers? [Re: guitpic1]
Bernie9 Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 09/21/02
Posts: 3925
Loc: Port Charlotte,FL,USA
Thanks Don, but I have made a deal from a private party who bought an SD9. As soon as it arrives I will send it to AJ for a quick return. It won't be long now.
_________________________
pa4X 76 ,Audya 76,Yamaha S970 , vArranger, Hammond SK1, Ketron SD40, Centerpoint Space Station

Top
#438611 - 10/06/17 08:27 AM Re: Multiple Arrangers? [Re: Bernie9]
guitpic1 Online   content
Senior Member

Registered: 04/16/14
Posts: 1234
Loc: MN
Good points.

Good info.
_________________________
PA 4X, S970, DGX650, JBL Eon One, Space Station V.3, Yamaha DXR10

Top
#438616 - 10/06/17 09:02 AM Re: Multiple Arrangers? [Re: guitpic1]
captain Russ Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/02/04
Posts: 6273
Loc: Lexington, Ky, USA
I also switch up...not arrangers but a 2nd or third keyboard. Sometimes, it's the kind of music that makes me modify the equipment.

Generally, I use an SK-1 on the bottom and either an old MS-60 or SD-5 on the top.

More conventional jobs get a nice electric piano on the right hand. On others, I use a synth. For bigger jobs, I sometimes stack the synth and the piano.

Ya just gotta remember where you are wen it's time to make a quick tone change.

FUN FUN FUN!

R.

Top

Moderator:  Admin 



Help keep Synth Zone Online