SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#432180 - 05/23/17 06:22 PM Using Legacy Voices With The SD7
hammer Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/27/08
Posts: 2049
Loc: Texas
I downloaded some SD1 voices and tried to use them with my SD7. Nothing I did made the SD7 "see" the voices. Is this doable and how do you make use of such voices?

Deane

Top
#432324 - 05/26/17 09:52 AM Re: Using Legacy Voices With The SD7 [Re: hammer]
Sapphire Offline
Member

Registered: 12/31/03
Posts: 76
Loc: Benfleet, Essex. UK
Hi Deane,

you're not on your own, I have tried this and I cannot get them to be seen by the SD7.

Really hope someone comes up with an answer.

Alan

Top
#432328 - 05/26/17 11:08 AM Re: Using Legacy Voices With The SD7 [Re: hammer]
kierc.0857 Offline
Member

Registered: 01/11/15
Posts: 143
Where could i get the SD1 voices ?

Top
#432332 - 05/26/17 12:37 PM Re: Using Legacy Voices With The SD7 [Re: hammer]
Tonewheeldude Offline
Moderator

Registered: 01/21/10
Posts: 1469
They will not work as the platform is completely different - even the styles have to be converted. I found it easier to make up new sounds from scratch - But I am lucky enough to have the old keyboards to compare which makes copying much easier. What sounds were you wanting?

Top
#432344 - 05/26/17 09:06 PM Re: Using Legacy Voices With The SD7 [Re: hammer]
hammer Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/27/08
Posts: 2049
Loc: Texas
Tonewheeldude,

There were no special voices I wanted or needed. The questions arose on a UK forum where people are trying to decide to buy or not to buy a SD7 or SD40 module. I own 2 SD7 keyboards and was trying to help them. The group wanted to know about backward compatibility much like Yamaha keyboards have had forever.

Seems like Italy would see the advantage in providing full backward compatibility with their products.

Deane

Top
#432350 - 05/27/17 02:20 AM Re: Using Legacy Voices With The SD7 [Re: hammer]
Tonewheeldude Offline
Moderator

Registered: 01/21/10
Posts: 1469
Asking an SD7 to load factory sounds from the SD1 is a bit like asking a PSRA3000 to load a factory sound from a PSR8000 its just not necessary as they are lower quality samples on the older model. If there are specific sounds they have in mind its very easy to create them using the custom voice editor. You also have to keep in mind - Ketron are very on the ball when choosing their technology platform. The SD7/40/9 are Ketrons 4th major technology change since the MS series.

Styles are a different matter though - the SD7 and SD40 are the most backward compatible models yet. I have succesfully converted styles (on the SD) going right back the the X1 with only minor tweeking needed (drum kit selection was different on some styles and the organ voice on lower 2 was sometimes an octave too low).

If your friends buy from the UK they get around 380 additional styles pre installed if required and if they ask when purchasing there are around 30 additional sounds for the SD7 so far (more being added)

Top
#432369 - 05/27/17 10:35 AM Re: Using Legacy Voices With The SD7 [Re: Tonewheeldude]
Bud2 Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 02/01/09
Posts: 4
Loc: UK
I have just tried to use a couple of styles off Createasongstyle site and it stated it was converting the first one but nothing happened apart from locking up the keyboard so I had to switch it off. The file extension was .PAT No one from the forum said they had problems with them though so am I doing something wrong. Many thanks in advance for any help.
Bill

Top
#432437 - 05/28/17 03:23 PM Re: Using Legacy Voices With The SD7 [Re: Bud2]
Tonewheeldude Offline
Moderator

Registered: 01/21/10
Posts: 1469
your welcome to send me the style to test - as its a third party style it may be corrupt.

Top
#432454 - 05/28/17 07:35 PM Re: Using Legacy Voices With The SD7 [Re: hammer]
hammer Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/27/08
Posts: 2049
Loc: Texas
Bill,
the SD7 will convert just about any of the .PAT files unless they came from the Audya. I just sent you a lot of styles I have converted from Ketron Legacy keyboards.

Deane


Top
#432476 - 05/29/17 06:35 AM Re: Using Legacy Voices With The SD7 [Re: hammer]
hammer Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/27/08
Posts: 2049
Loc: Texas
Bill,
I should have mentioned this before. There are styles you will find with the .PAT extension that came from yamaha, korg, Roland etc and someone converted them for Ketron keyboards. Many of these styles are rubbish and will not convert to the .KST format on our SD7s. Also, it is these styles that often cause a problem with locking up the SD7. So far, if I use the styles from older Ketron keyboards they convert easily and seldom cause any problems. Keep in mind though, Audya styles will not work on our SD7s.

Deane

Top

Moderator:  Admin, Ketron_AJ, Tonewheeldude 



Help keep Synth Zone Online