SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#421643 - 05/25/16 04:23 AM Lionstracs downloads
Janr Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 05/25/16
Posts: 4
Loc: Netherlands
Hi there,

If you want stuff about the Lionstracs.
It's still there on the site.

Please have a look at: http://www.lionstracs.com/download/

Here you can download:
- GROOVE OS 5 XR.pdf
- GROOVE X6 OS51.pdf
- Groove XR-OS53-Operating System Installation and Upgrade Guide-31 Oct 2011.pdf
- OS51rev2303XR.iso
- VectricCut2D.rar

Cheers,
Jan

Top
#421689 - 05/25/16 11:35 PM Re: Lionstracs downloads [Re: Janr]
Nigel Offline
Admin

Registered: 06/01/98
Posts: 6201
Loc: Ventura CA USA
Thanks Jan I am grabbing them now to put on Synth Zone

Top
#422199 - 06/12/16 06:24 AM Re: Lionstracs downloads [Re: Janr]
LenKop Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 06/11/16
Posts: 3
Hi all,

Thanks for the link Jan.

Nice to see folks out there still using these beasts. i'm still at rev 4.5 on the MS X76, might give the 5.1 a try. I remember there was a hardware change somewhere between my version and 5, but can't remember if it was a graphics card or something else.

cheers

Len

Top
#458613 - 09/24/18 03:55 PM Re: Lionstracs downloads [Re: Janr]
Phil123 Offline
Member

Registered: 04/21/16
Posts: 44
Hello to all.

2018 now!

How many people still have a Lionstracs Mediastation and / or Groove?

Hello to Zmago and Hermut too. Richard Shiftlet (USA), are you still around?
Domenico. Do you sometimes keep in touch?

Anymore? The others, Brian and the others, I don't know (yet).

Anyway....


I'm trying to reboot mine. It hasn't been working for about 4 or 5 years. Now I've learned how to do an image on .iso and I'm trying to do that. Not working though. Trying different options. I think it needs to be done through KUBUNTU though.

Using these....

- LiLi USB Creator. (Windows)
- UNetbootin. (Windows / Linux / Mac)



Get in touch here or on phil_ines@hotmail.com

Best regards
Phil

Top
#458614 - 09/24/18 03:56 PM Re: Lionstracs downloads [Re: LenKop]
Phil123 Offline
Member

Registered: 04/21/16
Posts: 44
Graphic card.

Top
#458616 - 09/24/18 04:14 PM Re: Lionstracs downloads [Re: Janr]
Phil123 Offline
Member

Registered: 04/21/16
Posts: 44
Hi to all

I'm trying to get my Mediastation working again. It has the upgrade and I'm trying to reboot using the image of the .iso on the usb stick. It's not working though. It works when I use Ubuntu but then I need KDE (according to an email I got years ago from Domenico)! But when I try through KUBUNTU it doesn't work. Do I need to do it through UBUNTU and then add KDE or something?


Any advice would be great.


Thanks for all

Best regards
Phil

Top
#458685 - 09/26/18 01:46 AM Re: Lionstracs downloads [Re: Janr]
abacus Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 07/21/05
Posts: 4890
Loc: English Riviera, UK
Are you using the correct version of Kubuntu?
Have you changed any hardware since the last clean install (Contrary to what the Linux community says, not all later versions will run on older hardware and vice versa)
ISO is best run from disc if you are booting from it.
If you want to install from a USB drive at boot up follow the instructions on the Kubuntu website to create a USB version.

https://kubuntu.org/getkubuntu/

Hope this helps

Bill
_________________________
English Riviera:
Live entertainment, Real Ale, Great Scenery, Great Beaches, why would anyone want to live anywhere else (I�m definitely staying put).

Top
#458854 - 09/30/18 12:15 AM Re: Lionstracs downloads [Re: Janr]
freakman Offline
Member

Registered: 10/05/15
Posts: 84
Hello,
you need a bootable USB stick or CD. If it is not bootable, it will not work. The system runs under Linux Debian. KDE. The problem is to integrate the hardware. I have the Groove XR already set this up X times, unfortunately always with small problems. Domenico left it all, unfortunately with mistakes. I tried to get in contact with him for years, unfortunately he is very hurt that his business was ruined. Today he is no longer interested. If you do not have a backup or copy of your original software it will be very difficult to get it up and running again. My XR runs but synonymous with small restrictions. I now use the Gigasounds with different arrangements with Vst. This works very well.


Edited by freakman (09/30/18 12:17 AM)
_________________________
Freakman

Top
#459238 - 10/08/18 01:08 AM Re: Lionstracs downloads [Re: Janr]
Phil123 Offline
Member

Registered: 04/21/16
Posts: 44
Hello Abacus and freakman.... (Bill)

First of all, THANKS A MILLION FOR POSTING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

There IS LIFE in the Lionstracs community after all these years!!!!

First of all, I´m Phil. I was/am the one in those videos years ago. (That is another story though!)

Anyway, Zmago and Helmut are trying to help me too. And I also have friends here who know about LINUX.

I feel that I am SO close, but still not getting there....

I will explain my situation.
I have a Mediastation, but it was upgraded to Groove with the special hardware and software. It was working perfectly, but it got de-programmed. I did something wrong somewhere!!!!

It hasn't been working for about 5 years or so.

But Zmago has been trying to help me and then Helmut told me that I need to do an image of the OS.51.iso on a USB stick. I have the OS.51.iso from these pages.

A friend here, who knows about Linux, is trying to help me. We are going very slowly and step by step!!!!

I found out how to do an image, as I had owned a Korg Krome, and needed to do an image on the mini SD card. My friend did that for me. This same friend is now trying to help me get the image of the OS.51.iso on the USB stick through Kubuntu with KDE. The CD / DVD on my Mediastation is disabled, but perhaps it could work again!

I myself actually got the screen back working again, but with an image of the OS.51.iso but through Ubuntu and not Kubuntu. I actually have an email from Domenico, from years ago, that said I needed the KDE. So that, I discovered is on Kubuntu. 1 good thing though, is that the screen actually comes on, but through Ubuntu.

I will pass all this information to my friends. The problem is that they speak little English. BUT technicians understand written English though!!!!

Thanks a million for replying and let's see if with your help and advice above, we can get this working again...

Keep in touch, and hopefully in the next few days or weeks, we can get this working again.

THE GREAT NEWS IS THAT SOME LIONSTRACS OWNERS ARE STILL AROUND.

WE NEED TO FORM A NEW FACEBOOK PAGE


Thanks again,
Let's stay in touch

Best regards
Phil

Top
#459254 - 10/08/18 08:02 AM Re: Lionstracs downloads [Re: Phil123]
freakman Offline
Member

Registered: 10/05/15
Posts: 84
Hello Phil,

I'm really curious if you can do it, would be great if there could be a ray of light.
I also tried a few things with Linux Debian, but I only got the onboard sound card, the whole hardware runs on encrypted software. It only works with the correct PIN.
At least with the GrooveXR.

Regards
_________________________
Freakman

Top
#459513 - 10/12/18 02:21 AM Re: Lionstracs downloads [Re: Janr]
Phil123 Offline
Member

Registered: 04/21/16
Posts: 44
To be continued....

Top
#459694 - 10/15/18 02:03 AM Re: Lionstracs downloads [Re: Janr]
Phil123 Offline
Member

Registered: 04/21/16
Posts: 44
A friend of mine, who knows a lot about Linux, is going to help me try to get it rebooted this weekend. Let's see. We are trying to get an image of the OS51.iso through Kubuntu, as that contains the KDE. BUT one of you has mentioned "Debian" with KDE. Perhaps I should try with both Ubuntu and Debian. I want to form a Lionstracs Owners Facebook page. Do you think that is a good idea, or is it better through Synthzone? Or perhaps both?

Top
#459698 - 10/15/18 03:35 AM Re: Lionstracs downloads [Re: Phil123]
Phil123 Offline
Member

Registered: 04/21/16
Posts: 44
I mean: try with Ubuntu and Debian....

Top
#459699 - 10/15/18 03:36 AM Re: Lionstracs downloads [Re: Phil123]
Phil123 Offline
Member

Registered: 04/21/16
Posts: 44
Kubuntu... The spell check changed it to Ubuntu...

Top
#459972 - 10/19/18 01:40 PM Re: Lionstracs downloads [Re: Janr]
Phil123 Offline
Member

Registered: 04/21/16
Posts: 44
Ahhhhh. Still not working... But let's see if it does soon!

Where is the "Internal Audio" on the boot up page? I have to disable it first and then selllect the KDE...

Anyone know?

Thanks for any advice.....

Top
#460097 - 10/22/18 02:06 AM Re: Lionstracs downloads [Re: Phil123]
freakman Offline
Member

Registered: 10/05/15
Posts: 84
Hello Phil,
I have already tried everything with the GrooveXR.
Actually, you can install any system, only then will your instrument work like any PC.
I do not think that you can then use your switches and slides as it should be.
You need the basic structure of your instrument and the library as it should your instrument.
I already have the KDE version istalliert it works, but only with the onboard sound card, since everything else is running on an encryption, at least it is the same with the GrooveXR.
You can restore your instrument only with the associated files.
The original bootstick with the correct OS version and the directories of your instrument, which you have to overwrite after installation.
After that it should work again.
If you have not made a copy of your HD, you should not format yet.
On your HD I at least the basic structure and the Lybrarys you need to restore.
You have to copy and save everything beforehand.
_________________________
Freakman

Top
#460171 - 10/23/18 04:33 AM Re: Lionstracs downloads [Re: Janr]
LenKop Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 06/11/16
Posts: 3
I have formatted my Mediastation X76 so many times over the years.

This machine still sounds great.

My screen is now blank, but I run it from a monitor via the video card.

And I could never quite work out the MIDI...I guess my chops stay sharp having to play everything precisely.

if it helps, it's definitely Debian. I have the disks labelled...not that I know much about Linux. If anything, this keyboard introduced me to a new world of computing.

I don't know if Domenico's youtube videos are still up, maybe there is some help to be found there.

Hopefully you get yours up and running Phil...

Len

Top
#465960 - 02/10/19 05:15 AM Re: Lionstracs downloads [Re: Janr]
Phil123 Offline
Member

Registered: 04/21/16
Posts: 44
HELLO TO ALL.

Miracles DO STILL happen.

Domenico has very kindly put on the Lionstracs Download page his files again.

http://www.lionstracs.com/download/

But please do not get in contact with him again about this as he has lost a lot of money in all this.

Thanks again Domenico from all the Lionstracs owners!
We really appreciate it!!!!
Best regards

Top
#466251 - 02/18/19 12:20 PM Re: Lionstracs downloads [Re: Janr]
Phil123 Offline
Member

Registered: 04/21/16
Posts: 44
YES!!! It's up and running again (graphics and sound) thanks to my friend Mauricio who repaired it for me and to Domenico who supplied the material. I now have to upgrade ASIO and WINE as not all is working properly, but at least the synth section is. With ASIO and Wine upgraded it should all work well again - hopefully!!!

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  Admin 



Help keep Synth Zone Online