SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 >
Topic Options
#401255 - 04/09/15 05:54 PM PA900 newbie type questions
cassp Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 03/21/03
Posts: 3709
Loc: Motown
Hi everyone, I just took delivery of my new PA900 and have a few questions.
1. Is a Performance similar to Yamaha Registration? If so, why are they named like sounds? It seems if I press a performance like Jimmy Organ, all the instruments in the style Sts change too.... Is that right?
2. If I just want to change UP1, 2 or 3 while playing a style or song, can I do that? How?
3. Is My Setting just like one Performance, but I get to set it up? So it's just one UP1,2,3 and Low; or are the 4 of them, like an STS?

Thanks in advance. Once I get the hang of this OsS I think I'll enjoy every minute of my new main board.
_________________________
Riding on the Avenue of Time
cassp50@gmail.com

Top
#401256 - 04/09/15 06:19 PM Re: PA900 newbie type questions [Re: cassp]
mirza Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 11/15/01
Posts: 1311
Loc: london,ontario.canada
Performance can be whatever you want it to be.. Like registrations on Yamaha. You can onlu use it for sounds or it can call up styles with all the settings too.
You choose UP1,2,3 same like on Psr.
Your setting is like a performance. It's the first thing you want when you turn on your keyboard.
_________________________
MIKIMIKI

TYROS 5,BEHRINGER X32PRODUCER,YAMAHA DSR112,JBL PRX618s XLF,EV ZLX12p,SENNHEISER E945,....ETC

Top
#401257 - 04/09/15 07:22 PM Re: PA900 newbie type questions [Re: cassp]
mdorantes Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 11/25/00
Posts: 1186
Loc: Phoenix, Arizona
Hello

You also can "re-program" the STS For Each style (OTS in Yamaha lingo), and in the Korg arrangers, is saved actually on the Factory style unlike the Yamaha that has to be saved as User Style. This allows you to customize your sounds, and also if you change some parameters like EQ, Volume, etc. that would also be saved on the Style, if you wish no to do "Performances"=Registrations.

The Performances are the equivalent to Registrations, and they have a unique feature, the "Lock" (Icon is actually a Lock) that locks ONLY the Tempo, just be careful, because if you change style the Tempo would remain if the Lock is engaged.
_________________________
mdorantes

Top
#401259 - 04/09/15 09:47 PM Re: PA900 newbie type questions [Re: cassp]
DonM Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/25/99
Posts: 16106
Loc: Benton, LA, USA
I use the Performances to have instant access to my go-to sounds.
I use Songbook where I would have used registrations in Yamaha.
It is a very powerful and versatile tool!
Wish I could sit down with you for an hour or so and you would quickly be up to speed.
_________________________
DonM

Top
#401262 - 04/09/15 11:53 PM Re: PA900 newbie type questions [Re: mdorantes]
mdorantes Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 11/25/00
Posts: 1186
Loc: Phoenix, Arizona

Also on the STS that you may program can include EQ, FX, and if you may use the Duo, Block, etc...the melody on chord, etc....
_________________________
mdorantes

Top
#401263 - 04/10/15 05:34 AM Re: PA900 newbie type questions [Re: mdorantes]
Dnj Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 09/21/00
Posts: 41580






keys

Top
#401267 - 04/10/15 07:29 AM Re: PA900 newbie type questions [Re: cassp]
cassp Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 03/21/03
Posts: 3709
Loc: Motown
I've slept on it and some of this is a bit clearer, thanks. So now, a couple more questions.

1. Can you not use the drawbars live? It seems they are only used to edit sounds.
2. Using just one player, can you load another song while the first is playing.

What helped me understand some of these questions was my brief experience with the Micro Arranger. They were some of the items that hung me up back then.
_________________________
Riding on the Avenue of Time
cassp50@gmail.com

Top
#401268 - 04/10/15 07:43 AM Re: PA900 newbie type questions [Re: cassp]
DonM Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/25/99
Posts: 16106
Loc: Benton, LA, USA
Cass,
Give me a call. 318965nine7five8
_________________________
DonM

Top
#401269 - 04/10/15 07:48 AM Re: PA900 newbie type questions [Re: cassp]
DonM Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/25/99
Posts: 16106
Loc: Benton, LA, USA
Organ drawbars can be accessed by either picking one of the Organ Performances that start with DWB, or press Organ sound group in Sound Select menu, then press the sound name from the main screen. It opens up the screen where you can change footage, leslie speed, percussion, etc.
_________________________
DonM

Top
#401270 - 04/10/15 07:54 AM Re: PA900 newbie type questions [Re: cassp]
DonM Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/25/99
Posts: 16106
Loc: Benton, LA, USA
As far as pre-loading sequences, I suppose that is best done by using the second player.
Another way is to load the songs you want to play into a directory, in the order you want them to play, then select Play All. They will automatically play in order. Sort of a jukebox function that is not really explained anywhere that I can see.
_________________________
DonM

Top
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 >

Moderator:  Admin 



Help keep Synth Zone Online