SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#388013 - 04/16/14 10:28 PM Does anyone remember the SX-KN470 Keyboard?
SillyLittleBoy Offline

I'm needing some help with what appears and sounds to be a pretty decent keyboard that is fully functional. I picked this up in a trade for an old single channel tube mic pre-amp that was maybe worth $20 on a good day/lucky day.

I thought it WAS my lucky day (still do), because I traded it for this SX-KN470. Now I'm no pro and still learning my way around a musical keyboard (guitarist primarily), but this baby has the touch sensitive keys or velocity. I have a CASIO, too, that I was using to teach myself and I didn't realize how bad it was until I got the expressiveness of the touch sensitive keys on this baby.

It's been near impossible to get any information on it, but I did manage to find a service manual AND what appears to be a user/operator's manual, though much of the manual talks about the KN550 or KN650.

I know most of you here have moved WAY beyond this ancient cheapy Technics keyboard (although think it's totally awesome with the bend wheel and all), but I was hoping someone might have known someone who had a cousin whose mom used to have one of these... I'm trying to learn ANYTHING I can about the SZ-P1 foot switch, which based on it's description (taken from the service manual for my KN470) I don't think it's anything more than an on/off switch operated by foot ("The optional SZ-P1 Foot Switch can be connected to this terminal (1/4" phono plug) to control various functions."

In the user/operator's manual there are instructions for setting the "Foot Switch Settings" to select WHAT the foot switch will control. In one example it gives info on how to set it up so the foot switch turns on or off the sustain, which is JUST what I want. Unfortunately those same instructions do not produce that option on my KN470 (manual is for a KN550 and KN650 AND my KN470 (but mostly the first two).