SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 6 of 6 < 1 2 3 4 5 6
Topic Options
#387626 - 04/05/14 05:08 PM Re: For Thelonious Monk lovers - all one of you. [Re: cgiles]
captain Russ Offline

Loc: Lexington, Ky, USA
OR, we do something ELSE for a living and live with the choice and comfort.

That's what we (you and I) did.

Whether that was the right decision is a question I constantly ask myself.

Damn!

Russ

#387628 - 04/05/14 06:33 PM Re: For Thelonious Monk lovers - all one of you. [Re: cgiles]
ianmcnll Offline

Loc: Cape Breton Island, Canada
I played music for a living ever since I was around 15 years old...I've done very few other type jobs, and if I did, they were related to playing music or working with keyboards.

Now at 65, and restructuring things before I start gigging again, I can say I have no regrets.

Playing music has always been the central theme and never a sideline. Sometimes i had to make hard choices, but they were worth it.

Ian

#387631 - 04/06/14 02:42 AM Re: For Thelonious Monk lovers - all one of you. [Re: cgiles]
Nigel Offline
Admin

Loc: Ventura CA USA
Originally Posted By: cgiles
Nigel, don't know if you're familiar with this group; if not, check this out. You MUST listen to the entire thing, especially Cory Henry's synth solo towards the end. THEY might give Chick's group a run for their money. I don't think it gets much better than this.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L_XJ_s5IsQc

chas

Loved it chas. I am going to listen to more of their clips that I see listed at Youtube. You were right that synth solo is awesome. I bet Chick would love it too. But you can be certain I won't be comparing it to Elvis wink

#387632 - 04/06/14 03:41 AM Re: For Thelonious Monk lovers - all one of you. [Re: captain Russ]
Nigel Offline
Admin

Loc: Ventura CA USA
Originally Posted By: captain Russ

Thanks, Chas...didn't know these kids before.

A real joy to see, AND WATCH!