SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#38029 - 04/25/00 06:38 PM Mackie vs Behringer?
bassfreq Offline

Loc: west babylon, ny, 11701
Ok here it is...
I'm now ready to by my first mixing board. My issue is ...bang for the buck! I've been putting this midi based studio together for a while now & this is the final touch. I know what the Mackie boards are capable of. There warm sound & low noise. But there is the side of me that thinks... How much of a difference is there in the Behringer boards. Price wise you get more channels & more buses. But how will this effect my music, I'm not a total newbie & know what a true quality track sounds like. Any suggestions or comments are appreciated.
p.s.: I'm doing eltronica / house based music & layer many elements.

#38030 - 04/25/00 07:46 PM Re: Mackie vs Behringer?
Korgasm Offline

Loc: Australia
Bassfreq- Do you know that Mackie tried to sue Behringer over the issue of their mixers looking and behaving suspicously like Mackie's but at a much lower price range!!!!

Mackie stuff is great and I'll go so far as to say that they definetly have the nicest sounding mic pre's of the whole lot of compact mixers (however gone are the days when only a Mackie is good enough!!!!!).

I myself own an older model Behringer MX2642 4 buss rackmount mixer. It's very quiet but I can hear that it's EQ is not quite up there with a Mackie 1604VLZ or a Soundcraft Folio series. That's not to say it sounds bad however!!!!! The same applies to the Mic Pre's. They are good but the ones in my Soundcraft Spirit Folio (which costs not much less than the Behringer but has less features) sound better with more headroom.

However, in the last year or so, Behringer have revamped their mixer range (they even look different to Mackies now with the new colour scheme!!!!). Apparantly, their mic pres have been improved also.