SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#363908 - 03/27/13 03:39 PM hard drive for technics KN6500
Nick G Offline

Loc: Sydney, NSW, Australia
i have never done this before but heard you can install an internal hard drive for the KN6500??

Basically i want to expand the 20 custom style spots to alot more as i fear i will fill this up quite fast at the current rate i am going.

is it just as simple as buying a laptop or PC harddrive from a computer shop and connecting it inside the keyboard like a PC? (I am fluent with doing this in PC's).

OR is it a proprietary technics piece of equipment.??

thanks

#363912 - 03/27/13 04:42 PM Re: hard drive for technics KN6500 [Re: Nick G]
Bob Hendershot Offline

Loc: Johnson City, TN USA
The Technics hard disk kit is unique with a circuit board attached. A standard PC hard disk will not do the job.

Although custom styles can be useful, you need to be cautious if you ever plan to send any of your sequences to someone else with a Technics keyboard. Unless their custom style memory is loaded with your custom setup, the sequence will not play properly on their keyboard. If you do install a hard drive, there will be little need for the custom style memory because you can easily load whatever you have saved to the HDD about as fast as selecting custom memory styles. The custom memory slots for styles were originally included because it took so very long to load styles from floppy disks. The KN6000 was the first Technics model to use compressed files for disk memory. Load times were significantly reduced with compressed files. Personally, I avoid the use of Custom memory styles like the plague. Others may see it differently . . .

#363913 - 03/27/13 05:11 PM Re: hard drive for technics KN6500 [Re: Nick G]
Nick G Offline

Loc: Sydney, NSW, Australia
OK, so if i cannot get my hands on a Hard drive, my only option is to have the 20 custom styles saved in the custom style category plus whatever i have on floppy disks?