SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#360395 - 02/05/13 01:19 AM Video mode issue
synerjim Offline
Member

Registered: 10/27/03
Posts: 520
Loc: CA
When I connect an external VGA display with my A5, I got a blank display with "overrange" message and a humming noise on the P.A. System. Could it be the A5 external display card faulty?
_________________________
Jim

SD90, Pa1000,TC Helicon Play Electric, Fender Sonoran Guitar, vArranger, Bose S1 Pros, Bose L1 Compact, Aiwa Exos-9

Top
#360403 - 02/05/13 02:30 AM Re: Video mode issue [Re: synerjim]
Bernie9 Online   content
Senior Member

Registered: 09/21/02
Posts: 4894
Loc: Port Charlotte,FL,USA
I assume Video Mode is on and set to VGA.
_________________________
pa4X 76 ,SX900, Audya 76,Yamaha S970 , vArranger, Hammond SK1, Ketron SD40, Centerpoint Space Station, Bose compact

Top
#360407 - 02/05/13 03:40 AM Re: Video mode issue [Re: synerjim]
Ketron_AJ Offline
Moderator

Registered: 03/21/01
Posts: 3226
Loc: Middletown, DE
Or frequency or x and y coordinates are not properly set.
_________________________
[KETRON - USA]
Design Engineer & Product Specialist.
www.KetronAmerica.com

Top
#360419 - 02/05/13 07:13 AM Re: Video mode issue [Re: synerjim]
Dusan Offline
Member

Registered: 05/04/09
Posts: 558
Loc: Slovenija
Originally Posted By: synerjim
When I connect an external VGA display with my A5, I got a blank display with "overrange" message and a humming noise on the P.A. System. Could it be the A5 external display card faulty?


I had a humming noice on my PA to,if I conect external monitor also had humming noice when I conect rear USB port to PC.

Eny explanation about that?

Top
#360427 - 02/05/13 09:37 AM Re: Video mode issue [Re: Dusan]
Snoopy Offline
Member

Registered: 05/23/11
Posts: 284
Loc: Northern Germany
Originally Posted By: Dusan
I had a humming noice on my PA to,if I conect external monitor also had humming noice when I conect rear USB port to PC.

Eny explanation about that?


Yes, itīs a problem of different electrical potentials.

Try to turn around the 230 Volts plug by 180 degrees and plug it in again. First the one auf the Audya, than, if that doesnīt work, ALL the 230 V plugs of the PC / monitor and all other with the PC connected 230V devices.

I assume that all devices are connected to earth !!! This is a must !
_________________________
Greetings from East-Frisia ( Northern-Germany )

Top
#360429 - 02/05/13 09:44 AM Re: Video mode issue [Re: synerjim]
Snoopy Offline
Member

Registered: 05/23/11
Posts: 284
Loc: Northern Germany
Originally Posted By: synerjim
When I connect an external VGA display with my A5, I got a blank display with "overrange" message and a humming noise on the P.A. System. Could it be the A5 external display card faulty?


Hi,

overrange means, that the frequency of the Audyas videosignal ist too high for the monitor. Maybe your monitor is a very old one ?
Can you set the monitors videomode manually ( on the monitor ! ) ? If yes, set it to resolution of 640 * 480 an 60 hertz refreshrate.
If you can set the monitors horizontal and vertical refreshvalues :
Try Horizontal 30 kHz, vertical 60 Hz
_________________________
Greetings from East-Frisia ( Northern-Germany )

Top
#360444 - 02/05/13 12:11 PM Re: Video mode issue [Re: Snoopy]
synerjim Offline
Member

Registered: 10/27/03
Posts: 520
Loc: CA
Friends,

I tried 2 monitors, one is a bit older and the other one is newer with auto-detect features. Same issue. I'll see if i can manually set the frequencies. I don't know if i missed it, but i can't find frequency adjustments on the A5, only setting to OFF, VGA or Mirror.
BTW, my MidJay (set to 60HZ) works flawlessly with these 2 monitors, no humming and no display issue.

Thanks for all your replies.
_________________________
Jim

SD90, Pa1000,TC Helicon Play Electric, Fender Sonoran Guitar, vArranger, Bose S1 Pros, Bose L1 Compact, Aiwa Exos-9

Top
#360459 - 02/05/13 03:10 PM Re: Video mode issue [Re: synerjim]
Tonewheeldude Offline
Moderator

Registered: 01/21/10
Posts: 1529
My Audya works with our LCD monitor but not the CRT one (same message as yours) I am guessing the frequency is not high enough on the CRT?

Top
#360489 - 02/05/13 09:20 PM Re: Video mode issue [Re: synerjim]
synerjim Offline
Member

Registered: 10/27/03
Posts: 520
Loc: CA
Both of my monitors are LCDs and both are working great with my Midjay.
I tried all kinds of adjustments on both monitors but in vain.
I decided to open the hood and checked if there's any loose connectors, cables and also checked the pcbs. Everything's solid and looks very good inside. This keyboard is pretty new. I guess the problem could be on the video board.
I think i'm the second owner. Now, where to go from here?
_________________________
Jim

SD90, Pa1000,TC Helicon Play Electric, Fender Sonoran Guitar, vArranger, Bose S1 Pros, Bose L1 Compact, Aiwa Exos-9

Top
#360501 - 02/06/13 01:39 AM Re: Video mode issue [Re: synerjim]
Tonewheeldude Offline
Moderator

Registered: 01/21/10
Posts: 1529
I just had a thought, are your monitors capable of handling standard VGA? The Manual states:" Resolution: 320x240" that may mean the frequency is lower tan your monitor can handle. I'll do a little research later.

Top
#360753 - 02/07/13 10:59 PM Re: Video mode issue [Re: synerjim]
synerjim Offline
Member

Registered: 10/27/03
Posts: 520
Loc: CA
Hi Tonewheeldude,

I'm sure they are. Both works with the classic Midjay which is older than the A5. Also, the moment you connect the A5 with the monitor it'll emit humming sound thru the PA, which i think a sign of video interface card problem. If it's only frequency mismatch, i don't think it'll emit that kind of sound. I'll contact AJ on this as i think this is still under warranty.

Thanks Tonewheeldude.
_________________________
Jim

SD90, Pa1000,TC Helicon Play Electric, Fender Sonoran Guitar, vArranger, Bose S1 Pros, Bose L1 Compact, Aiwa Exos-9

Top
#361966 - 02/21/13 10:11 PM Re: Video mode issue [Re: synerjim]
player 1 Offline
Member

Registered: 02/24/09
Posts: 96
Loc: Vargon Sweden
I use the midjay some years ago and there was no humming but on the Audya there is humming all the time, I have many thoughts about this but now I know that iīm not alone about this problem
Hasse

Top
#361973 - 02/22/13 01:41 AM Re: Video mode issue [Re: player 1]
synerjim Offline
Member

Registered: 10/27/03
Posts: 520
Loc: CA
Hi Player 1
But can you able to display or mirror what's on the A5 screen to the external monitor?
_________________________
Jim

SD90, Pa1000,TC Helicon Play Electric, Fender Sonoran Guitar, vArranger, Bose S1 Pros, Bose L1 Compact, Aiwa Exos-9

Top
#361975 - 02/22/13 03:57 AM Re: Video mode issue [Re: synerjim]
player 1 Offline
Member

Registered: 02/24/09
Posts: 96
Loc: Vargon Sweden
I have never tryed to mirror, I use it only for lyrics, I have all our lyrics on the monitor and it works fine exept for the humming, I can try to mirror next time to see if it works

Top
#361999 - 02/22/13 11:26 AM Re: Video mode issue [Re: player 1]
synerjim Offline
Member

Registered: 10/27/03
Posts: 520
Loc: CA
I have 2 monitors here both works with my MidJay but does not work with A5. Can you provide me the brand and model no. of your monitor?
Thanks
_________________________
Jim

SD90, Pa1000,TC Helicon Play Electric, Fender Sonoran Guitar, vArranger, Bose S1 Pros, Bose L1 Compact, Aiwa Exos-9

Top
#362894 - 03/11/13 10:16 AM Re: Video mode issue [Re: synerjim]
player 1 Offline
Member

Registered: 02/24/09
Posts: 96
Loc: Vargon Sweden
Now at last I have the information for the monitor
itīs a Samsung Syncmaster 171S I guess it quit old but it workes

Top
#362922 - 03/11/13 10:40 PM Re: Video mode issue [Re: synerjim]
synerjim Offline
Member

Registered: 10/27/03
Posts: 520
Loc: CA
Thanks player 1
_________________________
Jim

SD90, Pa1000,TC Helicon Play Electric, Fender Sonoran Guitar, vArranger, Bose S1 Pros, Bose L1 Compact, Aiwa Exos-9

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  Admin, Ketron_AJ, Tonewheeldude 



Help keep Synth Zone Online