SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 2 of 3 < 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#344961 - 05/20/12 08:48 AM Re: KN7000 [Re: Jean Olivia]
Jean Olivia Offline
Member

Registered: 01/25/02
Posts: 215
Loc: Melbourne Victoria Australia
Hi all. I picked up the 7000 today after a quick try out at the chaps house and all seemed well, but I find now that the tempo wheel is not working smoothly and will not change steadily, but will stay on the same tempo although you are gently turning the wheel. Very disappointed as I think it will have to go back. Every thing else seems fine. SD card was unopened. What a blow.!! Tired and unhappy, but Im going to bed. It is nearly 2a.m. cheers Jean.
_________________________
Jean Olivia

Top
#344967 - 05/20/12 04:01 PM Re: KN7000 [Re: Jean Olivia]
Audrey Turner Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 03/19/02
Posts: 1080
Loc: Cambridge, Cambs, England
Hello Jean,

When I exchanged my first KN7 for a Tyros 3 the tempo wheel was also 'slipping' and I did point this out to the Dealer but he told me he wasn't worried as it was a simple job to fix it. Unfortunately, he didn't tell me how but I thought you might like to know that it can be done. Meanwhile, whilst pressing down on the wheel very slightly, I used to turn it slower than usual until it showed the tempo number in the screen. This can then be saved along with your sets to the panel memory.

I can guess how disappointed you feel but give it a try, it might just work for you. If it doesn't, I suggest you email Bill Norrie or Alec Pagida - both highly knowledgeable on the KN7000 and more than likely can tell you what to do about it.

Chin up! Audrey

Top
#344988 - 05/21/12 04:27 PM Re: KN7000 [Re: Audrey Turner]
Jean Olivia Offline
Member

Registered: 01/25/02
Posts: 215
Loc: Melbourne Victoria Australia
Audry. I am hoping the man from the "keyboard hospital" can help
find a new part. I dont think that the wheel can be repaired. I am waiting to hear back from him. Meanwhile I am having a play around with the keyboard - I would hate to have to return it. Turning it slowly does work if you only need to increase a small amount, but reversing to slow down is pretty hopeless.
My fear would be that it is on the way out and soon may not work at all. Thinking about that- I'm in the same boat. Ha Ha.Jean.
_________________________
Jean Olivia

Top
#344994 - 05/22/12 12:23 AM Re: KN7000 [Re: Jean Olivia]
Giovanni Offline
Member

Registered: 09/12/04
Posts: 447
Loc: Norwich Norfolk England
Hi Jean , if you do not have any luck locating the spare part , Give this company a try they are in the Uk .

www.wdgreenhill.net/

or email help@wdgreenhill.com


regards ...Giovanni
_________________________
Giovanni

Top
#344997 - 05/22/12 02:03 AM Re: KN7000 [Re: Jean Olivia]
jd5live Offline
Member

Registered: 05/16/06
Posts: 331
Loc: Bilston , West Midlands,Englan...
hi Jean,the company that Giovanni has given you the link to supplied the correct part for me and it only took a few hours to strip down the keyboard and fit the replacement.the new part has given great service since.
regards John.

Top
#345006 - 05/22/12 09:59 AM Re: KN7000 [Re: Jean Olivia]
etwo4788 Offline
Member

Registered: 08/28/04
Posts: 518
Loc: S.E. New Mexico USA
John...I went to Giovanni's suggested site..Could not find a listing/part number for "Tempo Wheel".....

If you got a tempo wheel from that site, what is the part number and part name? What did it cost?

Interested in getting two for my 7K's....

Elizabeth

Top
#345009 - 05/22/12 01:00 PM Re: KN7000 [Re: etwo4788]
Bill Norrie Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/16/02
Posts: 2275
Loc: Richmond,North Yorkshire, UK
The TEMPO/PROGRAM Wheel device Circuit reference is SW1101 and its Part Number is QSRGT003AA. It is referred to as the 'Encoder Switch'

This device may be supplied complete with its own seperate small Printed Circuit board, on which it is mounted. PCB14 Part Number SXPG239011B It is referred to as the ROT PCB

It is in Greenhill's Parts list : http://www.wdgreenhill.com/manu/technics/technics_parts.htm
Probably best to email the company......

Top
#345015 - 05/22/12 07:04 PM Re: KN7000 [Re: Jean Olivia]
Jean Olivia Offline
Member

Registered: 01/25/02
Posts: 215
Loc: Melbourne Victoria Australia
Good News. I had a thought that it might just be fluff or dust and got the vac cleaner and vacced around the wheel and gently turned it back and forward. I thought nothing had changed. When I started it up again a few hours later, the wheel worked perfectly. The owner had not used the keyboard for a couple of years. It just proves the old saying is true -USE IT OR LOSE IT.This also must apply to keyboards. Would it be a good idea to buy a spare if still available. It renders the keyboard pretty useless if it fails.Thank you Bill and John for the advice and lead.I am now a happy 7000 player. I will still hang onto my 6500 to take out to play. The 7000 is too heavy and will always stay home. I call it Cinderella. Cheers. Jean.
_________________________
Jean Olivia

Top
#345016 - 05/23/12 12:28 AM Re: KN7000 [Re: Jean Olivia]
Nigel Offline
Admin

Registered: 06/01/98
Posts: 5924
Loc: Ventura CA USA
So pleased that worked itself out Jean. I am guessing you are one of the very few KN7000 owners on the Mornington Peninsula.

Top
#345021 - 05/23/12 04:30 AM Re: KN7000 [Re: Nigel]
Jean Olivia Offline
Member

Registered: 01/25/02
Posts: 215
Loc: Melbourne Victoria Australia
Nigel. I think I am. Nevertheless I have 8 members of the 7000 club coming down from Melbourne tomorrow, 7 men and 1 lady. I have set up my new Bose L1 Compact. I also have my 6500 for duets. This place will be rocking!!! Cheers. Jean.
_________________________
Jean Olivia

Top
Page 2 of 3 < 1 2 3 >

Moderator:  Admin 



Help keep Synth Zone Online