SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#33698 - 08/18/08 09:14 AM New Ketron sd4 now in the USA....
Ketron_AJ Offline
Moderator

Registered: 03/21/01
Posts: 2938
Loc: Middletown, DE
... The sd4 is now in the US so please contact your dealers and grab one of these while supplies from this first shipment last.
_________________________
[KETRON - USA]
Design Engineer & Product Specialist.
www.KetronAmerica.com

Top
#33699 - 08/18/08 08:48 PM Re: New Ketron sd4 now in the USA....
--Mac Offline
Member

Registered: 05/16/08
Posts: 307
Loc: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
If you are in the US, predominantly SouthEast area, you can send me a PM to me at www.Audiominds.com forum or an email to jinglesmith AT gmail.com to start purchase order of Ketron products, including the new SD4. I'm officially known as the Virginia State Distributor.

I should have an SD4 inhand in a few more days and will be reporting on it and reviewing here and elsewhere.

Should be able to answer questions in a few days or so, will also be posting some soundfiles, etc.


--Mac

[This message has been edited by --Mac (edited 08-19-2008).]
_________________________
"Keep listening. Never become so self-important that you can't listen to other players. Live cleanly....Do right....You can improve as a player by improving as a person. It's a duty we owe to ourselves." --John Coltrane

"You don't know what you like, you like what you know. In order to know what you like, you have to know everything." --Branford Marsalis

Top
#33700 - 09/11/08 05:53 AM Re: New Ketron sd4 now in the USA....
leeboy Online   content
Senior Member

Registered: 10/09/04
Posts: 2026
Loc: Columbia City, IN USA
AJ,
Does the SD-4 have EXACTLY the same sound set as the SD-2???

Lee
_________________________
Lee S.

Top
#33701 - 09/11/08 05:53 PM Re: New Ketron sd4 now in the USA....
--Mac Offline
Member

Registered: 05/16/08
Posts: 307
Loc: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
The SD4 has TWO MIDI synths in it, with two separate input connections.

The first one is identical to the SD2 in all respects, the one exception possibly being the Percussion Banks, I'm still looking into that one, will report when sorted.

The second synth is the "Presets" synth, which has 64 default sounds and also 64 user definable sounds. We can mix and match and also edit sound parameters for those last 64, such as layering, effects etc. and end up with a one button command to call them up.

The second synth then would be the equivalent of your keyboard that you play, while the first one is a GM compat with upper banks, using the exact same patch list and commands as the SD2, which would likely be hooked up to your computer, MIDI file player, or the like for accompaniment.

We can do things like access the rotary speaker from the SD4's built in controls.

HTH,


--Mac
_________________________
"Keep listening. Never become so self-important that you can't listen to other players. Live cleanly....Do right....You can improve as a player by improving as a person. It's a duty we owe to ourselves." --John Coltrane

"You don't know what you like, you like what you know. In order to know what you like, you have to know everything." --Branford Marsalis

Top

Moderator:  Admin, Ketron_AJ, Tonewheeldude 



Help keep Synth Zone Online