SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#334764 - 12/25/11 07:34 AM KETRON SD1 DIES WHILE GIGGING...
DAN.2000 Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 08/09/01
Posts: 1068
Loc: FRANCE
I was playing yesterday night with my Ketron SD1... then it rebooted by itself. then I was not able to restart it again.

It is rebooting every seconds...

Poor me frown The gig had to finish with only the Guitar player and the singer.

So bad that I did not take my vArranger software !!!!!!!!!!

Do you know how to repair my SD1?
_________________________
Regards,

Dan
https://www.varranger.com

Top
#334766 - 12/25/11 08:38 AM Re: KETRON SD1 DIES WHILE GIGGING... [Re: DAN.2000]
Bill in Dayton Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 08/23/04
Posts: 2152
Loc: Dayton, OH USA
No, I'm afraid not...Sorry to hear this...
_________________________
Bill in Dayton

Top
#334769 - 12/25/11 09:24 AM Re: KETRON SD1 DIES WHILE GIGGING... [Re: DAN.2000]
Fran Carango Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 05/26/99
Posts: 8678
Loc: Levittown, Pa, USA
Originally Posted By: DAN.2000
I was playing yesterday night with my Ketron SD1... then it rebooted by itself. then I was not able to restart it again.

It is rebooting every seconds...

Poor me frown The gig had to finish with only the Guitar player and the singer.

So bad that I did not take my vArranger software !!!!!!!!!!

Do you know how to repair my SD1?


Dan, are you using a power strip outlet..I experienced a similar problem with a G800 keyboard...it acted just like your SD-1...it turned out to be the power outlet I was using..The strip arced internally and would reboot the keyboard over and over..
_________________________
www.francarango.com



Top
#334771 - 12/25/11 10:51 AM Re: KETRON SD1 DIES WHILE GIGGING... [Re: DAN.2000]
mdorantes Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 11/25/00
Posts: 1158
Loc: Phoenix, Arizona
Hi Dan:

A friend of mine had similar experience a few months ago, and he had to reload the OS (I helped him since he did not know how to do it) Needless to say, you have to download the proper OS version and have those 12-13 floppies.

I hope you have beackups of your registrations, user styles, etc.
That seem to work. I hope I am wrong and is something easy.
Best luck and Merry Christmas.
_________________________
mdorantes

Top
#334777 - 12/25/11 02:31 PM Re: KETRON SD1 DIES WHILE GIGGING... [Re: DAN.2000]
hammer Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/27/08
Posts: 2227
Loc: Texas
Hi Dan,
Well you know what kind of help we get from Ketron - good luck. I still have not had any success in getting my SD2 unit replaced or repaired. I finally just gave up after 3 months of unanswered email and phone messages.

Deane

Top
#334779 - 12/25/11 03:33 PM Re: KETRON SD1 DIES WHILE GIGGING... [Re: hammer]
Impuls Offline
Member

Registered: 02/24/02
Posts: 538
Loc: Netherlands
Buy a Tyros 4 / Pa3 confused2

Ketron is like a Ferrari , very nice but not reliable and repairs cost a lot. smile

Impuls

Btw, serious,good luck with repair.
_________________________
Genos,Nord Electro 5D

Top
#334793 - 12/25/11 10:20 PM Re: KETRON SD1 DIES WHILE GIGGING... [Re: Impuls]
Tony Hughes Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/30/06
Posts: 3930
Dan,

The Sd1 has been around a long time and any common faults will be known by now, as soon as TWD see this I will bet he knows the answer. I don't think there is much to go wrong with the Sd1.

Best of luck with it

Tony
_________________________
Tyros 4/Pair SR 350/ PC with a i8 intel chip, XENYX 802, Ford Focus 2 litre/Tascam DR07/Brother printer/Designjet 500/ our Doris/5 Grandchildren/ white boxers short Kymart shipped over and Typhoo Tea Earl Grey

Top
#334794 - 12/25/11 10:31 PM Re: KETRON SD1 DIES WHILE GIGGING... [Re: DAN.2000]
Ketron_AJ Offline
Moderator

Registered: 03/21/01
Posts: 3158
Loc: Middletown, DE
At this point (without further diagnostics), I would suspect either the external or internal power supply. Is the bottom left part of keyboard (directly above the main big screw that holds transformer) HOT? If yes, transformer needs to be replaced. If no, and you've tried several external power supplies, chances are your internal power supply which give out various output from +5 to +12vDC may need to be replaced.

Thanks,

AJ
_________________________
[KETRON - USA]
Design Engineer & Product Specialist.
www.KetronAmerica.com

Top
#334795 - 12/25/11 11:57 PM Re: KETRON SD1 DIES WHILE GIGGING... [Re: Ketron_AJ]
Tony Hughes Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/30/06
Posts: 3930
AJ,

How does he get a new power supply, where from and how much are they.

Tony
_________________________
Tyros 4/Pair SR 350/ PC with a i8 intel chip, XENYX 802, Ford Focus 2 litre/Tascam DR07/Brother printer/Designjet 500/ our Doris/5 Grandchildren/ white boxers short Kymart shipped over and Typhoo Tea Earl Grey

Top
#334797 - 12/26/11 01:36 AM Re: KETRON SD1 DIES WHILE GIGGING... [Re: Tony Hughes]
Gunnar Jonny Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 04/01/01
Posts: 3844
Loc: Norway
Originally Posted By: Tony Hughes

How does he get a new power supply, where from and how much are they.


Simple answer to that Tony, wait till you find another good as new kb at eBay, and pick the parts from there. cool2

Seriously, SD1 has been a very reliable kb both for me and those I know who still use SD1 regulary.
Two (common?) issues that I know about, 1 replaced main volume slider and 2 fixed bad contact for screen.

Myself I had a minor bug when update software, contacted AJ and also sent a email to Ketron. Rapid reply from both, got a tiny file and a description about how to load it into kb from people at Ketron Italy, and all just fine.

Imagine if Audya had as few problems as SD1? keys
_________________________
Cheers & Happy Playing. smile
GJ
_______________________________________________
"Success is not counted by how high you have climbed
but by how many you brought with you." (Wil Rose)

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  Admin, Ketron_AJ, Tonewheeldude 



Help keep Synth Zone Online