SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 3 of 3 < 1 2 3
Topic Options
#330972 - 08/27/11 03:24 PM Re: AUDYA with SSD << Solid State Drive >> [Re: leezone]
DAN.2000 Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 08/09/01
Posts: 1099
Loc: FRANCE
I think Audya don't write so much into the HD.

It's almost only READ from the HD

So there is not so much risk about the SSD death.

Maybe the best is to try with the transcend SSD-IDE

And go gig always with the 2 HDs, so if one goes bad, you have a HD backup smile
_________________________
Regards,

Dan
https://www.varranger.com

Top
#330974 - 08/27/11 06:35 PM Re: AUDYA with SSD << Solid State Drive >> [Re: leezone]
leezone Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/24/08
Posts: 3116
Dan,

maybe alot or READ will ruin the SSD faster than IDE drive?
i find it hard to believe

i think AJ once said that using an SSD would require a re-write of the OS

so it probably is not so simple as we think
or maybe it is..who knows

Top
#330982 - 08/27/11 11:06 PM Re: AUDYA with SSD << Solid State Drive >> [Re: Snoopy]
Tony Hughes Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/30/06
Posts: 3930
Originally Posted By: Snoopy
If anyone is interested in,

the original drive in my Audya5 is :

Seagate LD 25.2 Typ : ST980210A

In Germany you can purchase ist for less than 50 Euros wink



Audya owners should write down this HD and keep it somewhere safe if needed, since not all 2.5" HDs will work on Audya, BTW this is not the only drive Audya use.
_________________________
Tyros 4/Pair SR 350/ PC with a i8 intel chip, XENYX 802, Ford Focus 2 litre/Tascam DR07/Brother printer/Designjet 500/ our Doris/5 Grandchildren/ white boxers short Kymart shipped over and Typhoo Tea Earl Grey

Top
#330990 - 08/28/11 03:03 AM Re: AUDYA with SSD << Solid State Drive >> [Re: leezone]
Snoopy Offline
Member

Registered: 05/23/11
Posts: 284
Loc: Northern Germany
Originally Posted By: leezone
...maybe alot or READ will ruin the SSD faster than IDE drive?


Hi again,

READING will not ruin the SSD, just WRITING wink

But dont forget : ANY new registration, User-Style, Program-Voice, mp3, wave and so on, ( as a summary : anything you change ) will result in WRITING to the SSD.

Even if you have to write only 1 byte the SSD will write a full sector. Depending on its size and the HD-technique used this may result in writing up to 32 MB. If you do that 2000 times youve written 60 GB.

BUT : On a "normal HD" youll write it always on different sectors. On SSD youll write it always into THE SAME memory-cell, except the "intelligent use" of the drive is supported by the operating-system ( and the SSD-controller-chip ).

A cheap SSD with MLC memory maybe written only up to 3.000 times until the memorycell is destroyed.

BTW: Technically my post is not 100% correct, but it should figure only how the system works wink
_________________________
Greetings from East-Frisia ( Northern-Germany )

Top
#331008 - 08/28/11 11:29 PM Re: AUDYA with SSD << Solid State Drive >> [Re: leezone]
Robbo Offline
Member

Registered: 07/31/08
Posts: 564
Loc: Ballarat, Victoria, Australia
Just a thought? I know the new Korg Kronos uses an ssd hard drive they must have known about the issues before they went for it, well one hopes so anyway, or have they cracked the secret?

Top
#331017 - 08/29/11 08:32 AM Re: AUDYA with SSD << Solid State Drive >> [Re: leezone]
leezone Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/24/08
Posts: 3116
so if Korg uses SSD
why not Ketron?
worth looking into AJ

Top
#331019 - 08/29/11 09:19 AM Re: AUDYA with SSD << Solid State Drive >> [Re: leezone]
Gunnar Jonny Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 04/01/01
Posts: 4009
Loc: Norway
Roland G-70 are equipped with Internal SSD (Solid State Disk) about 50 MB.
Remember it's some years since that keyboard released, and my G-70 and SSD drive still works great without any problem smile
keys
_________________________
Cheers 🥂
GJ
_______________________________________________
"Success is not counted by how high you have climbed
but by how many you brought with you." (Wil Rose)

Top
#331028 - 08/29/11 10:19 AM Re: AUDYA with SSD << Solid State Drive >> [Re: leezone]
leezone Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/24/08
Posts: 3116
so Roland and Korg both with SSD
seems to me that this might work



Edited by leezone (08/29/11 10:19 AM)

Top
Page 3 of 3 < 1 2 3

Moderator:  Admin, Ketron_AJ, Tonewheeldude 



Help keep Synth Zone Online