SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#305548 - 12/15/99 11:03 PM Sequencing for Roland products
Ms. G-Clef Offline

Loc: San Diego County, California, ...
I am a music teacher, and I do a lot of sequencing for the lessons I give. Many of my students have Roland products, including their digital pianos, but none of them the same two. When I create MIDI files, to what channels or tracks should I assign the various instruments so that the buttons for the "tracks" correctly function? For those who don't know it, the Roland Digital pianos don't allow you to turn off "track 1" or "channel 1" - they say "Bass" or "Melody".
If I had a Roland Piano at home I could easily figure this out myself, but since I don't, any help I could get would be appreciated.

#305549 - 12/29/99 06:11 AM Re: Sequencing for Roland products
Majik Offline

Loc: Wakefield, RI. USA
It has been a while since you asked this question so you might have already figured out an answer or given up. If you are still interested I'll give you what I know about this area. When using a sequencer like Cakewalk, for instance, it maters not what track you assign to what instrument. For the most part it seem that everyone uses track 1 as a control track, and track 10 is used for drum tracks. For a long time track 16 was used for the drum tracks, but now it's track ten. For the sake of less confusion, I always try to make the sequencer track match the midi track. (Seq trak 1 = midi track 1, and so on till seq track 16 = midi track 16. Then if you have a second midi string (B), seq track 17 =(B) midi track 1. etc.)
Assigning the programs to the tracks is simply your choice. You could put the bass part on seq track one if you want, and then put strings, for the melody, on seq track 2.
The bass instrument would be set to receive on midi track one and the string instrument would be set to receive on midi track 2.