SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 8 of 8 < 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Topic Options
#275746 - 11/18/09 12:15 PM Re: Why an arranger?
tony mads usa Offline

Loc: East Greenwich RI USA
Quote:
Originally posted by 124:
That's right, Tony. Much as I love all the aspects of arranger playing mentioned by many here, nothing, n-o-t-h-i-n-g beats the chemistry of a real band. As a caveat to that, I should mention that in all my years in the real band situation, I never experienced any of the downsides others have talked about. Just lucky, I guess.

I was fortunate to have the ULTIMATE band experience ... I started playing music with a few guys in high school - played high school RnR dances, then moved on to college dances ... we added a bass player vocalist and we were together for 26 years, playing weddings and dinner dances ... became best of friends - closer than family - our wives too! ... 25 years ago a business move took me out of NY to RI and the band broke up a year later ... we lost the bass player a year ago, but the rest of us are still close friends ...

Using the arranger I have worked with a player who plays bari, tenor, flute, guitar, and blues harmonica ... and sings! ... I've also worked with a couple of other sax players ... I like the sax addition because it is not loud and brassy like other horns and it fits in well ...

t.

#275747 - 11/18/09 01:39 PM Re: Why an arranger?
trident Offline

Loc: Athens, Greece
My reasons for using an arranger are very different from your "pro" reasons.

I always liked music. But for various reasons that really don't belong here, (read laziness) I never had the patience and never dedicated the time required to learn to "properly" (eg read notes) play music on any instrument. Thank God I have a good ear.

The first arranger I saw was a Panasonic (if I remember well), model unknown, around 1983. The disovery that this thing could play accompaniments was a revelation.