SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 >
Topic Options
#239352 - 08/03/08 01:03 PM Who plays retirement homes?
genesis12 Offline

Loc: Park Ridge, Illinois, USA
My partner and I have been playing music for over 50 years in the Chicagoland area and want to start playing retirement homes. I play the Ketron SD1 and he plays guitar and does the vocals. We've kept pretty busy over the years playing mostly dance music for a variety of posts and lodges but unfortunately the older vets are gradually dying out. Therefore, we're looking to start working retirement homes which we hear is a growing industry. Any suggestions for getting these gigs and the type of venue that goes over well would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
Gene

#239353 - 08/03/08 03:39 PM Re: Who plays retirement homes?
keybplayer Offline

Loc: CA
Greetings Gene,

There are a few of our members that play at Rest Homes. I think Gary "travlin'easy" Diamond still does.

Even though I haven't done any Rest Homes myself I may at some point consider doing it. Because Rest Homes are filled with older people in their 70's, 80's, and 90's, etc. the era of the music most of them listened to was probably a lot of 30's/40's Swing, Jazz, and Big Band. Glenn Miller, Duke Ellington, Tommy Dorsey, Frank Sinatra, Freddy Martin, Artie Shaw, The King Sisters, Sammy Kay, Vaughn Monroe, to name a few. Another big favorite of Rest Homes is playing and singing Gospel type music.

Don't expect the pay to be generous but if you find favor with the staff of any of the Rest Homes you may be able to aquire an extended contract with them with additional pay incentives.

That said, a lot of people do Rest Homes on an au gratis basis, considering it as giving back to the community or even as a personal ministry.

Either way, you would need to talk to the Director of the Rest Home(s) you are interested in playing at to setup a schedule and answer your questions regarding your engagements if they accept you.