SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 3 of 5 < 1 2 3 4 5 >
Topic Options
#239372 - 08/06/08 05:55 AM Re: Who plays retirement homes?
zuki Offline

Great reading

Since I'm fairly new to the scene, I can explain my M.O. I dug in and got my first job on 2/07 and now am at 58 jobs for 8/08.

This is my 2nd year on the elderly circuit. I had to pay my dues because no one ever heard of me. I made phone calls ALL DAY. I sent follow up letters, stating the few references I had. I took what I could to get in the door (typically about $75 - $80 the first time around). I wrote thank you letters after each performance and mailed a hard copy to the AD. In my opinion, you really don't need anything to start other than a business card and nice form letter.

If you go in with the goods and give quality entertainment (there's more threads on what to do live), you will get enough bookings in return to make a decent living.

My 2nd year, I've done the very same thing. I never, never quit prospecting for new places, simply because there are ones I need to weed out (sadly, due to the impossible, undependable AD and staff, not the residents who deserve better) and attrition.

My song list is growing and needs to be the constant for success - I'm playing many places monthly now and cannot become stale.

It took me 2 years to get in one local facility. I played it and they called me the next day asking if I wanted to secure (2) Fridays a month, as they're opening a Bistro. You never know

I've picked up on a few private parties from visitors during a performance - a little extra unsuspected goodie

With that, there are still many facilities I can't get in. They've never heard me, will not believe in what I say, are stuck in their ways and really don't care about their residents, imo. This is so annoying

But that's what brings out the bulldog I continue to think of new ideas to reach everyone. Right now, I have enough, but not enough to have the cream established.