SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#233649 - 05/03/08 07:48 AM Yamaha XGSound module?
leeboy Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 10/09/04
Posts: 2258
Loc: Columbia City, IN USA
I could use some help here... my question is:

What sound module does Yamaha make that has full XG sound set compatability?
I want to play styles (.sty)on it.

I know a QY-100 is, But what others are?

I was hoping the new Yamaha Motif XS rack was?

Thanks,
Lee
_________________________
Lee S.

Top
#233650 - 05/04/08 04:37 PM Re: Yamaha XGSound module?
rikkisbears Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 12/22/02
Posts: 5225
Loc: NSW,Australia
Hi Lee
doesn't mention XG sounds http://yamahasynth.com/products/motifrackxs/specifications.html

There is apparently an XG expansion card http://www.yamaha.com/yamahavgn/CDA/List/ModelSeriesList/0,,CTID%25253D206800%252526CNTYP%25253DPRODUCT,00.html

Don't know how it all works though,.

What do you mean you want to play styles??
These are only sound modules.

best wishes
Rikki

Quote:
Originally posted by leeboy:
I could use some help here... my question is:

What sound module does Yamaha make that has full XG sound set compatability?
I want to play styles (.sty)on it.

I know a QY-100 is, But what others are?

I was hoping the new Yamaha Motif XS rack was?

Thanks,
Lee




[This message has been edited by rikkisbears (edited 05-04-2008).]
_________________________
best wishes
Rikki

SX900, P121 Piano, PA800, Band in a Box 2019
V Arranger/Ketron SD2

Top
#233651 - 05/06/08 06:12 AM Re: Yamaha XGSound module?
leeboy Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 10/09/04
Posts: 2258
Loc: Columbia City, IN USA
Rikki,
Thanks for the reply...

What I want to do is:
Get a HIGH QUALITY XG sound module to use with Live styler. So I can use the Yamaha styles I still like very much.
I now use a PA2XPRO for my main board... Love it!

My setup includes the PA2, Second lower manual (CME 76 key) 13 notes pedal board, High end Sweetwater music PC, EMU 1820M audio and all the EMU sound sets for softsynth.

I can play the PA2, OR play Yamaha styles with the PA2/CME combination. With that setup I can use solo voices from PA2, EMU softsynth, or any hardware sound module for upper or lower voicing.

All I am missing is the great sounds of a Yamaha XG (would be nice to also have the Mega voices for styles, but Live styler now supports Tyros styles and will sub the mega with a close sound).

Too bad we can't get a Tyros 2 module.

Thanks for the info & help....
Lee
_________________________
Lee S.

Top
#233652 - 05/06/08 03:04 PM Re: Yamaha XGSound module?
rikkisbears Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 12/22/02
Posts: 5225
Loc: NSW,Australia
Hi Lee,
couldn't agree more. ( Tyros Module)

I think the older Yamaha MU series of sound modules were XG, but they wouldn't have had the megavoices.
Having said that, my Clavinova CLP170 ( non arranger model) is XG & I still needed to do a fair bit of tweaking to psr styles for them to sound good. I have it connected to OMB software , not Livestyler.

In the end I bought a psr1500 about 18 months ago. It doesn't have the megavoices, but at least I've got an idea of what the styles are supposed to sound like.
I bought a PA800 about 6 months ago ( luv it). I convert some of my styles across. The sounds on the PA800 are superior to the psr1500.
Biggest hassle is the XG drum mapping. I was going to try & edit the Korg drumsets to XG mapping, unfortunately I'm lousy at it sound editing, so now I just edit the drum tracks style by style, or replace the psr track with an existing korg drum track.

Good luck with your hunt.

best wishes
Rikki


[QUOTE]Originally posted by leeboy:
[B]Rikki,

Too bad we can't get a Tyros 2 module.
_________________________
best wishes
Rikki

SX900, P121 Piano, PA800, Band in a Box 2019
V Arranger/Ketron SD2

Top
#233653 - 05/06/08 05:54 PM Re: Yamaha XGSound module?
leeboy Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 10/09/04
Posts: 2258
Loc: Columbia City, IN USA
Rikki,
Thanks for the thoughts... One thing you may not know... Livestyler now has a feature for drum mapping! Haven't tried it yet.

I figured all the style tracks would need lot's of ediing so I was looking for a XG mdule. QY100 isn't bad. I was looking for something newer with XG... Still looking.

If Yamaha had a Tyros module they would sell a lot of them.

I'll stay in touch...
Lee
_________________________
Lee S.

Top
#233654 - 05/09/08 03:14 PM Re: Yamaha XGSound module?
The Insider Offline
Member

Registered: 01/18/05
Posts: 80
Loc: Buckinghamshire,England
XG is a format just like GM and GS, so every keyboard that contains XG logo on it is XG compatible - the first TG was the MU80. A Tyros is XG compatible as it contains the XG Voice set. XG is more about the manipulation of the sound sources and parameters and is a midi "Standard". Any keyboard that contains "XG" is "XG" compatible, however like all devices, some files will sound more natural than others.

Top
#233655 - 05/09/08 03:54 PM Re: Yamaha XGSound module?
Diki Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 04/25/05
Posts: 12861
Loc: NW Florida
XG does NOT mean Tyros2 or S900 compatible, though.

Pre-Mega styles will work probably OK, but everything since Mega voices came out will be as poor a translation as any other keyboard.

Top
#233656 - 05/10/08 06:28 PM Re: Yamaha XGSound module?
leeboy Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 10/09/04
Posts: 2258
Loc: Columbia City, IN USA
Live-Styler has a feature called convert mega-voices... I haven't tried it yet...but I think it should take a mega and convert it to something similar.

Similar may or may not be a problem... depends on how it really works.

Thanks for the caution,
Lee
_________________________
Lee S.

Top
#233657 - 05/12/08 02:56 AM Re: Yamaha XGSound module?
rikkisbears Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 12/22/02
Posts: 5225
Loc: NSW,Australia
Hi Lee,
I think you may find that all it does is fix it, so that it can be played on a non mega voice sound source.

I remember trying to play some of the original t1 styles on a non mega soundsource. I had all these strange notes playing thru.. Had to put them thru 3rd party software ie ( one of Michaels or Jorgen's pieces of software) to fix it. If I remember correctly, resaving a t1 style in EMC as a PSR9000 file, also corrected the megastyle tracks.

I think it may be a fix rather than an enhancement.

best wishes
Rikki

Quote:
Originally posted by leeboy:
Live-Styler has a feature called convert mega-voices... I haven't tried it yet...but I think it should take a mega and convert it to something similar.

Similar may or may not be a problem... depends on how it really works.

Thanks for the caution,
Lee
_________________________
best wishes
Rikki

SX900, P121 Piano, PA800, Band in a Box 2019
V Arranger/Ketron SD2

Top
#233658 - 05/12/08 03:09 AM Re: Yamaha XGSound module?
Bachus Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 03/02/06
Posts: 6754
Dang....didn't anyone ever think of making layered sounds that copy the Mega voices?

Just a standard sampleset for use with some vsti...
_________________________
Yamaha Genos, Roland Jupiter 80, Ipad pro.

http://keyszone.boards.net

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  Admin 



Help keep Synth Zone Online