SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 4 of 5 < 1 2 3 4 5 >
Topic Options
#221724 - 12/09/07 04:51 AM Re: Will we be Replaced by a JUKEBOX Next?
Jim Helwig Offline

Loc: Sebring, Florida, USA
The arguments abound (using pre-recorded sequences vs actual "live" playing). One thing that I've found is that today's audiences are very "jaded". The day when you could lug a B-3 into a venue with a drummer are really over (sadly). Audiences now want solo entertainers to sound like 16-pc orchaestras, and really the only way to do that is to use either self-produced sequences or, if you're unable to do your own, professionally done sequences. Many people confuse the words "entertainer" and "musician". As a musician, I'd love to do everything totally "live" but as an entertainer, I realize that I'd sound awfully silly attempting to perform some of the tunes demanded by audiences, in a "totally live" manner. So, I've resigned myself to the fact that my performances will include some of each, "live" playing coupled with self-produced vocal back-up tracks along with some prof. produced sequences as well. Musical purists don't like this, but if you are attempting to make a buck or two at this, you roll with the flow....
Jim Helwig

#221725 - 12/09/07 05:36 AM Re: Will we be Replaced by a JUKEBOX Next?
cgiles Offline

Loc: Roswell,GA/USA
Quote:
Originally posted by Jim Helwig:
The arguments abound (using pre-recorded sequences vs actual "live" playing). One thing that I've found is that today's audiences are very "jaded". The day when you could lug a B-3 into a venue with a drummer are really over (sadly). Audiences now want solo entertainers to sound like 16-pc orchrestras....

Jim Helwig