SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#204883 - 09/15/06 02:10 PM Newbie startup - Roland AX-7?
ziggystardust Offline

Loc: Godfrey, IL, USA
Hey everybody!

Before I get into details, let me tell you a little about myself. I've been playing piano and keyboard since i was a small child, and drumming since about ten. I'm a huge fan of glam and progressive like David Bowie, Brian Eno, Roxy music, YES and so on, and my current favorite bands include Of montreal, Fischerspooner, and Beck. I'm finally persuing my dream and getting into keyboard composition and keytar for stage.

Anyway, i've had some experience with Protools, Fruityloops, and Reason, but no *real* education. I'm about to buy a Roland AX-7. I've been told I should buy a roland 1010 sound module.. frankly I don't know anything about modules beyond some basic effects in the programs. I want to hook my keytar up to a good modulator and my laptop so I can get some really neat things going.

Basically, I'm asking if this is a good way to go- What equipment is best suited for crazy techno-indie, what program should i use (i know protools is kind of picky about hardware), and where is a good place to start or get formal education on how to use the programs and hardware. Thanks in advance for helping me out despite any dumb things I may have said. Cheers!

#204884 - 09/15/06 09:24 PM Re: Newbie startup - Roland AX-7?
Diki Offline

Loc: NW Florida
Not to put a dampener on your enthusiasm, but before you spring for the AX-7 and JV1010, you might try asking around at a few sites that specialize a bit more in what you are trying to do. This is a site for arranger users, and as squeak_d will tell you, there's not a lot of love here for Beck and modern musics, nor are most of the contemporary arrangers well suited for that style of music (although I'm a huge Beck fan myself, but wouldn't think about trying to do that style on an arranger).