SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#174233 - 04/17/06 11:03 PM my 2 c with midjay / motif es - going pa50 or psr 3000 for composing
Heinrich Offline

First I wanted to thank those people who have answered my previous postings. This is one great forum of helpful musicians - even if I am not a dedicated one man band guy.

Now, sorry for the long post:
I am thinking o leaving the workstation route to cross the meanwhile thin border to arranger keyboards for composing songs the easy way, as my job gets more demanding and time flies when you haggle with menus and stuff...

I am a guitarist with bad keyboard skills, so I use a midi guitar, means: good keybeds are wasted on me (though I feel the difference ;-)). I am into contemporary music and sound, mostly interested in R&B, latin, hiphop, jazz, but like to mingle a good chacha with - say - a triphop drum and a jazz acoustic bass, just to get the picture. March, country, hardrock I wonīt use, rather beguine, bachata, acid jazz, funk. Strange mixture ainīt it?

I posess a motif es 6 and a midjay I aquired recently to carry around as my room is really small.

My findings with the midjay:
pros: very good sounding punchy drums and single voices (brass etc.), instant access to the harddrive, reliable midiplayback, versatile concept, harddrive recording, little weight and a very helpful gerfman hotline!