SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 3 of 5 < 1 2 3 4 5 >
Topic Options
#160634 - 01/26/02 12:24 AM Re: PA 80 or PSR 2000 or Va 7
Beakybird Offline

That's right. At musiciansbuy.com, the PA80 goes for $2050.00 with the vocalizer, a vocalizer that isn't as good as the PSR2000's - and if you're performing live, you want that good vocal sound. You can get a PSR9000 for around $2050 (I've heard of less). You can get a PSR2000 for about $1050 - and perhaps get a 2 year warrantee thrown in. So we're talking about approximately a $1000 difference.
I'm a gigging musician. I normally have two gigs a day. When you practice for a gig and you use arranger keyboards, you can't really practice on another brand of keyboard - you have to have the right style, you might have to do some editing of registrations, styles, voices, etc. I own two PSR2000s that I got for $2100 including shipping and extended warranty. One stays in my car trunk and the other stays in my studio. If I want to practice for a gig, I just turn on the keyboard in my studio and start practicing. Perhaps I have to fetch my keyboard floppy files from my car to edit some styles or registrations.
If I had only $2100 I could buy one PA80, and I'd have about $50 left over. Then I would have to be shlepping a 35lb. keyboard out of the trunk and up and down the stairs - add the gig bag or case. If I came home for lunch and had 1 1/2 hours between gigs, I wouldn't even bother to get my keyboard unless it was an emergency.
If one of my PSR2000s breaks, I have the same exact keyboard to replace it. If my one PA80 broke, well I'd be in trouble unless I had a plan B.