SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#152080 - 09/25/06 12:45 AM New to arrangers. Some advice?
djay Offline

Loc: Ontario, Canada
Hello All.
Im a singer/song writer who also happens to play keyboard. well, im learning. I got my hands on an old brokedown Korg i-3 for free and ive been messing with it. I know my keys and chords and finger placements etc. and i can play solo and also as an accompnist.

Im looking into buying a pro-arranger keyboard and was looking into the PA1xPro.
Heres the reason.

Im into East-Indian music and most keyboardists that i hire for my own gigs use that (PA1Xpro) and rave about the ease of use with a multitude of patterns and samples. For my own studio and music production i was wondering if 1x is the right keyboard for me.

thats one.

2. is renting a good idea before actually buying the stuff?

3. how easy is it? do i have to sit with a manual for months? or will i just play with the touch screen and get the basic functions right?

4. how easy it is to load samples off the computer into the HDD of the keyboard (Pa1X pro) and can i also load beat loops and use them as drum patterns?

i know im a little naive here and most of you guys are waaaaaaay ahead and im like a kid asking a grownup for advise here.
thanks in advance.

Djay!

#152081 - 09/25/06 01:18 AM Re: New to arrangers. Some advice?
jamman Offline

Loc: City of Angels in the golden s...
pa 1x or T2.both have their pros and cons.but for easy song creation and styles that fit many songs the vote will go to Tyros.Pa has punchier drums and some sounds ,but tyros has SA voices which emulates real AC instruments with playing techinque.
But with Tyros you'll be writing songs,playing styles real fast. style and sound selection will also be faster in realtime.
PA has better seq,VH -mp3 and so on

[This message has been edited by jamman (edited 09-25-2006).]

#152082 - 09/25/06 02:12 AM Re: New to arrangers. Some advice?
abacus Offline

Loc: English Riviera, UK