SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#137690 - 11/04/02 03:15 PM New Member- guitarist turning arranger?
guitarman Offline

Hi to all,
Long time reader, at least a year. Want to thank you all for great reading since then. As you might guess from my username I am primarily a guitar player with only basic keyboard skills. I have been playing guitar for over 20 years- 10 years Pro but the last 10 at home and at parties and other occassions (cause they all know I play).
I have been thinking for a while now to expand my musical offerings with an arranger. As a guitarist I managed to surround myself with great instruments; I have a PRS custom 22 and a brazilian rosewood Martin D42 and a Kohno Model 30 classical, Gibson ES150 (1938) and some others of course.
So I know qaulity instruments and wish my background music to be the same. I tried out the Yamaha PRS2000 and it sounded pretty good. I really like the Korg PA-80 also and it has 2 audio inputs, one for my mic and one for guitar- seemed perfect.
But reading your posts I kept on delaying because I really thought your comments were like warnings.
My question is this, the Yamaha Tyros started out with so much excitement but recently there have been some reservations.
For keyboardists, are these different instruments like say the difference between a Fender and a Les Paul for the guitarist? Or maybe a solid body vs. hollowbody? I am trying to understand why everyone would not be happy with the latest greatest from a company like Yamaha, who seems to have more models of arrangers than all the others combined.
Question 2; Is the mic input really useful if you already have say a small digital mixer from Roland or Yamaha with built-in effects (do the arrangers effects for vocals compare in quality)?
Question 3- Can you really use the builtin speakers for satisfy a crowd of say 30-50 that gets louder as they get drunker (I know, more drunk)?