SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#130574 - 08/01/02 10:15 AM ? PSR2000
Nobby Offline
Member

Registered: 09/17/00
Posts: 707
Loc: Palmyra Mo. U.S.A.
Does the 2000 use a batt. or a capacitor to
hold the memory?
Nobby


------------------
_________________________
Nobby

Top
#130575 - 08/01/02 10:18 AM Re: ? PSR2000
Zack Offline
Member

Registered: 07/11/02
Posts: 138
it uses a battery. it's supposed to last five years. and its welded in place. "ask a certified yamaha technician" to replace it for you, if needed. Z

Top
#130576 - 08/01/02 10:36 AM Re: ? PSR2000
Nobby Offline
Member

Registered: 09/17/00
Posts: 707
Loc: Palmyra Mo. U.S.A.
That means you lose everthing thats stored in User memory! I have the user styles on
a floppy also some registers, But what do I do about the 460 song setups I have in
Song Finder? How do I back them up?
A lot of work there! And I don't have a hook up to the CP.
Nobby

------------------
_________________________
Nobby

Top
#130577 - 08/01/02 10:38 AM Re: ? PSR2000
Zack Offline
Member

Registered: 07/11/02
Posts: 138
go to Function, >System Reset> Music Finder and copy the file thats in the user folder onto a disk. the one thats in the preset is the oroginal 500 or 450 or whatever it was. Z

Top
#130578 - 08/02/02 02:10 PM Re: ? PSR2000
jedi Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 02/07/02
Posts: 1125
Loc: Merrimack, N.H.
Hi Nobby and Zack,
I always thought that the "Y2K" uses "EEPROM`s" (electronicaly erasable-programable read only memory) But still It would need a "power-source" --"YikES" Thanks guy`s forgot about that
jedi

Top
#130579 - 08/05/02 01:53 PM Re: ? PSR2000
Nobby Offline
Member

Registered: 09/17/00
Posts: 707
Loc: Palmyra Mo. U.S.A.
Hi Zack & jedi,
My problem would be that my local dealer is and older man, and may not be able to solder
one of those very small Batt. on a circuit board! First off you need a small dc. soldering iron. AC solder irons should not be used in digital circuits.
I would do it myself but I know longer have what I would need to do it.
All the best
Nobby

------------------


[This message has been edited by Nobby (edited 08-05-2002).]
_________________________
Nobby

Top
#130580 - 08/05/02 03:00 PM Re: ? PSR2000
jedi Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 02/07/02
Posts: 1125
Loc: Merrimack, N.H.
Hi Nobby,
I`m not sure how important the battery pack-up is ? Maybe if you just make sure that all your important "settings" and "song-files" are on floppies then I think you should be all set. IMO one of the reasons they put those batteries in things "electronic" , I think , is because we (me included) don`t always back-up when we should. As far as doing and "real damage" to the KB, I think that is unlikely.
Anyway , to change the subject , is your computer "OK" ? It`s weird every now and then I get these e-mails (not from you) that have these huge attachments that and I don`t have a "clue" as to how I get then !! So much for "privacy on the web" !!
Take care and best of luck
jedi

Top
#130581 - 08/05/02 03:38 PM Re: ? PSR2000
Nobby Offline
Member

Registered: 09/17/00
Posts: 707
Loc: Palmyra Mo. U.S.A.
Hi jedi,
As long as you have your KB plugged into the
Plugin and you don't have a power outage, for any lenth of time> Id say you would see know know difference if the batt. went down!
But don't unplug it and try to take it on a gig, 'cause when you get to where play and turn on your board all of memory data
will be lost! And that's a bad time to find out that all the data you need in the KB is at home on a floppy!
You see digital circuits require a small electronic clock for them to work. They have to have a small DC voltage at all times.
Whe there shut off and unplugged from the wall, they must have a battery or in the case of the PSR-740 A large capasitor to hold the memory.
I think I'm right on this.

"jedi" I'm finaly clean of the virus.
I still have to repair some of the damage that it did!
Thank the Lord for good friends,
Nobby


------------------
_________________________
Nobby

Top
#130582 - 08/05/02 04:04 PM Re: ? PSR2000
jedi Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 02/07/02
Posts: 1125
Loc: Merrimack, N.H.
Hi Nobby,
Thanks for the "tip" about the "battery-thing". I can see how it would be a "nightmare" to be on your way to a "gig" and get "set-up" only to find your "data" gone and you forgot your floppies,"Yikes"!
Glad to see that your making progress with your computer. Technology, you`ve gotta` "love it or hate it" hahaha
Take care my friend !
jedi

Top

Moderator:  Admin 



Help keep Synth Zone Online