play with it, it is always set to the 500 standard drum set, when I
change it, it changes the drums in the song, I have went over the
manual and can't figure out how to get back to where I can play any
tone I want along with my midi songs. Please help, I miss playing
along. Thanks,

#13024 - 08/09/05 05:21 PM Re: Play along with midi
Fran Carango Offline

Loc: Levittown, Pa, USA
Change your keyboard part[the actual part you play] to any other part/channel, except the drum channel[10]..
I usually select part/channel 16..the least conflicting part with a SMF.

You can also do a factory reset..

[This message has been edited by Fran Carango (edited 08-09-2005).]

#13025 - 08/09/05 05:38 PM Re: Play along with midi
Mary T Offline

I don't want to factory reset, I have so many things setup and saved. I had got to the point where I was ready to do it just out of frustration. Where exactly would I go to change the "part"? I'm still learning all the menus. Thanks for your reply.

#13026 - 08/10/05 08:53 AM Re: Play along with midi
Jim Wintringham Offline

Loc: Forest, Oh., U.S.A.
The 'mixer' button let you change any of the 16 channel tones (using the cursor to toggle thru the channels...the one you are 'on' will flash, on the display). The first 4 channels can be 'toggled thru', just by pushing the 'left/right' cursors. If you press the 'tone' button...the display will show the current tone for the channel that is flashing. If it is set to a drum (500 to 515)...then that channel will play drum sounds. If you punch in (as an example),'000' ...the tone will change to the piano. Just be sure to press the 'tone' button first...to display the tone selection.
On my Casio, when I play a SMF file...the channel that my keyboard is using (for me to play along with)...is 'channel 4' (you can see the 'bar' move when you play a note). The channel you see moving the bar, is the one which you need to set a 'musical' tone, like the piano.