SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#116023 - 04/22/02 09:40 PM Do you like Country music?
Dreamer Offline

Loc: Rome - Italy
This song is based on a User Program I have casually found on my zip disk; the Program shows what Variphrase can do when used in a clever way. As soon as I started playing a big smile appeared on my face: it was so cool that I decided immediately to record something to share with you. The problem is that it was a country program and, since I am not a country music expert (actually this is my first attempt with that genre of music) I played the first thing that came to my mind. I am not even sure about the title (I think it's "Red River Valley" but wouldn't bet on it; however that's the title I gave to the song). I was so full of enthusiasm that I recorded the whole song in less than half an hour.
I hope you like it; I would like to dedicate this song to all lovers of country music and especially to Don Mason, because he is the Country expert of this Forum, and Nobby, because I know that he really loves Country and because we all love him.
Andrea
http://andrearotolo.tripod.com/dreamer/id1.html

#116024 - 04/22/02 10:12 PM Re: Do you like Country music?
DonM Offline

Loc: Benton, LA, USA
Wow, what an honor! And it is quite ironic because I live about one mile from the Red River, just north of Shreveport.
Your rendition of the song reminds me of the version done by Bee Bumble & The Stingers, called "Red River Rock". The lead was done on a sax and twangy quitar. I can recall doing it when I was in college in the late 60's. I posted a midi version on the Yamaha Song group sometime last year!
I like your arrangement and the vocal parts were great. I can't help but think what a great version of "The Lion Sleeps Tonight" you could do on that thing. The "A-wee-ma-ways" would sound wonderful.
DonM

#116025 - 04/23/02 03:15 AM Re: Do you like Country music?
Sander Offline

Loc: Hoogeveen, Drenthe, The Nether...
Andrea,